We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B - very highly regarded” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grace Gardens Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swanage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grace Gardens Guest House
Ranked #49 of 55 Swanage B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B - very highly regarded”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

This B&B is nicely presented to a very high standard. It is quite centrally located and near to the beach. Parking is a tad cramped but we had no problems. Breakfast was good and freshly cooked. The owners were really friendly and helpful.
I think if there is a slight downside it would be the charges for our dog. At £7.50 per night it is on the high side given the room is not spring cleaned every day.
Having said that we would consider staying again

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bertiefaversham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2010

We stayed here with a group of frineds for a weekend. We were scuba diving so had to get up early to get to the pier. Despite this Lorraine and Richard were up at 6.30am making us toast and tea and bacon rolls to take with us! Great service and very welcoming atmosphere. We will be back next time we come to Swanage!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scubanicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2010

If you are a solo traveller and fancy a short break to the beautiful seaside resort Swanage, you can’t go wrong with this lovely B&B. The B&B is stone’s throw from the beach and town, the rooms are very clean and tidy, breakfast is delicious the parking is free (always a bonus) and I found my stay very relaxing and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DME009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W. Sussex England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2010

I have stayed at this B&B every July since 2003 because of the annual Swanage Jazz Festival. I always stay for 5 nights and pre-book for the following year before checking out. I like Grace Gardens because it is close to all the main Jazz venues,restaurants,shops etc. It is also on flat terrain and has a single en-suite bedroom [quite a rarity in Swanage!] Equally as important---Lorraine and Richard,the owners, are friendly and helpful, and do their utmost to make their guests feel wecome.
I have always felt "at home" here and will be returning again in 2010

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jazzman20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

We stayed here with our 2 young children (1 year old and 3 year old). We were not sure about staying in a B & B with such young children but it all worked out fine. The owners were so firendly and helpfull, supplied plentifull milk for the children, offered the microwave to warm milk up and even provided toys at the breakfast table when our 3 year old decided he had had enough! The room and ensuiite were both very nicely decorated and very clean. The room was a little bit of a squeeze for us as we had a travel cot in there as well as the double bed and bunk beds but we survived!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2kidsstilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

We spent 2 nights here, after our camping trip went wrong, and we can honestly say that it is the best B&B that we've stayed in! The proprieters were very welcoming, friendly, polite, and nothing was too much trouble for them. We stayed in the Florabella room (which is the smallest double room), but it was beautifully furnished, very plush, very clean, and just a lovely room! The ensuite was very modern and was sparkling too. The bed was really comfortable, and the room had its own refridgerator with fresh milk in (just ask the proprieters for some more when you run out and they're more than happy to get it for you). The dining room was luxurious, with leather chairs around a large long table. There was also a mini-bar downstairs and a jucuzzi/spa (we never tried it, but it open for the guests to use). WiFi was also available for a small extra charge.
The breakfasts were delicious - both the cooked English breakfast, and continental (which has a variety of options) were yummy and not greasy in any way.
The location was excellent - just a 2 minute walk down to the seafront, and the B&B had its own parking so you hardly ever had to use the car to get about.
We will definitely come here again and would highly recommend others to give it a go. It is definitely worth its 4 star rating - it's better than many hotels by far!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coolpink101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.4 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#5 of 55 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.0 mi away
Corner Meadow
Corner Meadow
#27 of 55 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Railway Cottage Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Caythorpe House
Caythorpe House
#9 of 55 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#12 of 55 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.2 mi away
A Great Escape Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grace Gardens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Gardens Guest House

Property: Grace Gardens Guest House
Address: 28 Victoria Avenue, Swanage BH19 1AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grace Gardens Guest House is in the beautiful Victorian Seaside town of Swanage. Swanage is situated in the south eastern corner of Dorset, Purbeck is 60 square miles of land bounded on three sides by water and on its fourth side by a line of hills. With access by only one main road or by chain ferry from Sandbanks, this small area gives the feeling of isolation from the mainland, hence name "Isle of Purbeck". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grace Gardens Guest House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing