We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy to recommend.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amberlea Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amberlea Guest House
Ranked #24 of 55 Swanage B&B and Inns
Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Happy to recommend.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

The rooms are not huge but everything worked. Perfectly comfortable beds, good location close to the beach, off street parking, nice breakfast. Very reasonable price so I’d happily recommend Amberlea and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireDupin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    20
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
23
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Stayed here for three nights in mid August 2012 and was a little disappointed of how unclean some areas of the bedroom and ensuite was. There was dust on the carpet near the radiator and along the skirting board, and the en-suite was awful.
The shower output was very weak (not power shower) and the shower enclosure was falling to bits, dirty and grim and in need of desperate refurbishment. The taps were dirty and the toilet roll holder was full of rust. some of the bedroom drawers were dusty too. The owners were very nice people, the breakfast was very good, and the beds were very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in late July 2012. We had stayed here before on one occasion.

Overall, the accommodation is very good. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, however, they can be a little cramped. The bathrooms could perhaps do with a bit of a renovation, and the showers are quite small. THE BEDS ARE REALLY COMFORTABLE!

The garden is very nicely looked after.

Breakfast is very good; wide range of fresh fruit, juices, cereals, toast with jam, marmalade and nutella etc. Full english is top notch - egg, bacon, sausage, hash brown, tomato all there. Tea and coffee also available. The waitress service left a little to be desired, although i would say that she was new to the job so not really her fault. Dinner is available, but we preferred to eat out.

Car parking can be a little troublesome. There is some round the back, and some round the front, and if you are not a confident driver it might be difficult to get the car into the space. In addition, it is easy to get blocked in. However, there is a massive public car park over the road, which costs £8 per 24 hours, but the ticket is transferable to the beach car park, so is good value.

The hotel is literally a 10 minute walk to the sea front.

The owners are attentive, friendly and kind. They are approachable and a fountain of knowledge and advice about the region.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crazybeachboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry. United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

We only stayed here for one night (in September), but it was very comfortable. Room was spacious and clean and breakfast tasty and filling . A well run B&B.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SurferDaventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

My Mum & I were intending to stay in Dorset in our campervan but it broke down (fuel filter got blocked apparently) at dark. Luckily I managed to get it to a lighted place and we knocked on the door of the Amberlea B&B (it was about 10.30/11.00pm by now). They were really helpful & had a spare double room for the night, in fact it was so comfortable that we stayed a second night (we were ever so tired & stressed so needed some time out & it was clean, comfortable and safe so we stayed!).

Really lovely people, obviously family and the boy who gave us breakfast was a real sweetie. Good location (easy walking distance to town/beach), nice breakfast, comfortable bed, freeview TV, good temperature, en-suite shower-room and with parking.

A really nice B&B. If I ever needed somewhere to stay in this area again, I would defo come back (this time after booking up - lol). I actually ended up having a nice weekend!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blondie_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

We stayed at Amberlea Guest House from 27th December 2010 to 2nd January 2011.

After a long journey, it was nice to be greeted by owners Clare & Martin, and then shown to our rooms. My wife, daughter and I shared Room 2.

The immediate impression was one of cleanliness, and the room included all the important components - tea, coffe, hot chocolate (and some exceptionally nice biscuits). The beds were very comfortable and a small but very adequate flat screen tv on the wall. The shower/bathroom had plenty of clean towels & complimentary shampoo/gels etc.

My 16 year old son was in a small single room (Number 2) which he loved. A great space for him to chill out on his own. Again, all the items made available in our room were also in his.

The cooked breakfast was excellent, nicely cooked and good quality ingredients. Plenty of choice in respect of cereals, some fresh fruit, warm toast and the usual tea and coffee.

There is ample car parking space and the location is perfect for the beach (although too cold in December I think) and the town centre.

We went for the New Years fancy dress 'town' party - and it appears that virtually everybody joins in the fun, whatever the age. The atmosphere was superb and never a hint of trouble. Well done Swanage!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank razorbluenose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linz
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2010

We only stayed at Amberlea for one night. The owner was very friendly, the location within Swanage is only a few minutes walk from town centre and breakfast is good with a large variety on offer. The double room was alright, nothing fancy. There was no hot water in the morning unfortunately which was the only negative point, otherwise it's a typical B&B.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_Palinovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.2 mi away
Millbrook Guest House
Millbrook Guest House
#4 of 55 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Railway Cottage Guest House
0.1 mi away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sandhaven Guest House
Sandhaven Guest House
#16 of 55 in Swanage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Easter Cottage
Easter Cottage
#22 of 55 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Robertsbrook Guest House
Robertsbrook Guest House
#13 of 55 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amberlea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amberlea Guest House

Property: Amberlea Guest House
Address: 36 Victoria Avenue, Swanage BH19 1AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amberlea Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Amberlea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amberlea Guest House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing