We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Roger Warwick”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swanage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Little Gem Guest House
Ranked #18 of 48 Swanage B&B and Inns
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Roger Warwick”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This is a really good guesthouse. It is situated in a quiet part of Swanage and only 15 minutes walk from the town and seafront. The owners were very welcoming and excellent hosts during my stay. The room was very clean with a spacious bathroom and the breakfast was very good with a choice of food to that, I am sure, would suit all tastes. I was really impressed and have already booked to stay at Little Gem again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
43
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This is what you hope for when you book a B&B. A warm welcome, a nice clean room with a decent bathroom, a good breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and located in a nice quiet neighbourhood. I have stayed at Little Gem several times, and always enjoyed a my stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickSidmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I stayed in the twin room with a friend, for the Swanage Blues Fesival. The proprietors had just taken over the guest house but we received a warm welcome. The room was spacious, warm and comfortable and breakfast was good with some local produce. We could park on the forecourt and it was a 15 minute walk to the town and beach. Very good value and we enjoyed our stay, thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swanbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haw,UK
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We stayed in the family room at Little Gem. The large room with bathroom was very clean and warm and is big enough for a couple with 2 kids.Hosts were very friendly and helpful and gave us good tips on where to visit and lend us a map. Breakfast was very good,lots of choice of cereal, yoghurt, fruit and of course the full English. Location is very quiet, a 15 minutes walk from the town centre which was nice to do at night. Will stay again
Christiane, David and Marie

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiane Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Had a couple of days at Little Gem. Hosts were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious,choice of cereal, yoghurt, fruit, full English. Room was very clean and warm and shower room luxurious.Location is only a quiet stroll from the town past the historic railway. Swanage was beautiful and interesting even in Autumn weather! Hosts gave good tips on where to visit. Will stay again. Phil and Sue

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowwhite240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed for only one night and found Little Gem to be clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very good and more than enough to eat (which is good these days). Not the best location but price reflects this.
All in all a pleasant enough stay and no complaints

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cockneyjohn504022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Little Gem is an apt name for the place, very clean and comfortable, the gaffer and his miss are very friendly but not over the top. I will use the Little Gem again.
10/10

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pete3304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.4 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Millbrook Guest House
Millbrook Guest House
#4 of 48 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Swanage Haven
The Swanage Haven
#1 of 48 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Gem Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Gem Guest House

Property: Little Gem Guest House
Address: 4 Cecil Road, Swanage BH19 1JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Gem Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Gem, Swanage is rated 4 Star by Visit England and our TripAdvisor reviews speak for themselves. An Edwardian house with modern comforts. A high standard of accommodation with the best breakfast in Swanage. Enquire about our out-of-season special offers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Gem Guest House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing