We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really excellent B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 48 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greenwich, London
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Really excellent B&B”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Arbour House for a couple of nights and Fraser and Sarah were great hosts.

The room we stayed in was stylishly decorated and fitted out and really clean. The breakfasts were amazing - it is evident that they use really good produce.

On our last morning we spent half an hour chatting to Fraser and Sarah and they were absolutely charming.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arbourhouseswanage, Owner at Arbour House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Thanks so much for taking time to write this lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed our B&B and had a good break from the routine. Best wishes, Sarah and Frazer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    24
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
162
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

We were diving at swanage this August bank holiday ,
We stayed a couple of day , it was very clean and quite and a warm welcoming at our arrival , with freshly made breakfast in the morning, we definitely recommend .
Thank you for looking after us.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arbourhouseswanage, Owner at Arbour House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Thanks for your kind review, we hope we will be welcoming you back here sometime soon, best wishes, Sarah and Frazer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Without doubt this is the best B and B I have stayed in. Great Location, easy parking, great hosts and everything about Arbour House was as expected, clean, tidy, good facilities and a good sized room.

Also my wife is coeliac and needs gluten free food, this was accommodated without any difficulty. So often B and B proprietors have let us down with promises of gluten free food, which has never materialised. The breakfast was superb, for both of us.

Will we go back? Absolutely, we love the area and this is such a find - Almost seems a shame to share it, just in case there is no space next time we want to go...... !!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jb100Leicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arbourhouseswanage, Owner at Arbour House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Thank you so much for a great review, sorry we have taken a while ... We have been rather busy since we saw you...so glad you had a great time and we only hope that we can welcome you back to this lovely area sometime in the near future, best wishes, Sarah and Frazer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caterham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Myself and my girlfriend had a short 2 night stay at the Arbour House B&B in August and we were very pleased everything. Rooms are very clean and well decorated, beds are comfy, breakfast is excellent and the location is fantastic. You are a very short walk from both the town and the beach. There are two spaces on the drive for parking, however there was also ample free space on the road outside.

The price was very reasonable especially for a stay during the school summer holidays.

I really have nothing bad to say about this place. Take a visit, I don't think you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 450Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arbourhouseswanage, Owner at Arbour House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Thank you very much indeed for this review, it is very complimentary and we are glad you had such an enjoyable time, look forward to welcoming you back best wishes, Sarah and Frazer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at Arbour B and B for 2 nights as part of a week's holiday in Dorset.

The owners, Fergus and Sarah were very welcoming and made us feel at home as soon as we arrived. They had good knowledge and recommendations about local attractions. The linen and bedding was first class and provided a wonderful night's sleep.

The B and B was well located in a very peaceful road not far from the beach and the town which made day trips and nights out very easy.

The cleanliness and comfort of the room was top notch. The breakfast options included more than just a standard cooked breakfast. All the options were delicious but I particularly enjoyed the salmon and cream cheese bagel which was lovely!

We were particularly touched with the warm farewell and invitation to visit again with our new baby.

We would definitely recommend Arbour to anyone looking for accommodation in Swanage

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arbourhouseswanage, Owner at Arbour House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Thank you very much for your very kind review, we really enjoyed meeting you both and we are glad you managed to have a relaxing break before your big event. We hope we will meet again, with best wishes, Sarah and Frazer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodley, null, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Following a warm welcome by our hosts, Fraser and Sarah Bell, we were shown to our family room which was both stylish and immaculate. The beds were extremely comfortable, and each day the room was serviced to the same high standard. Breakfast was a daily treat, with hearty local produce and real fruit salad made fresh each morning. The location is perfect, a short step from the seafront and town yet in a quiet residential road with easy parking. We thoroughly enjoyed our six night break at Arbour House, and the easy and friendly atmosphere. This would be our first choice for any future visits to Swanage. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arbourhouseswanage, Owner at Arbour House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Thank you very much indeed for this excellent review, we are happy to help and glad you had a lovely time. We look forward to seeing a bit more of you in the near future, all the best, Sarah and Frazer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This was our third time to Arbour House and we will be returning! Very good value for money. Excellent location, easy to park, rooms are spotless with everything you need and brilliant hosts!

See you soon!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arbourhouseswanage, Owner at Arbour House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Many thanks for your complimentary review, we always enjoy welcoming you to Arbour House B&B and we look forward to seeing you again, best wishes, Sarah and Frazer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.4 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Swanage Haven
The Swanage Haven
#1 of 48 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.3 mi away
Millbrook Guest House
Millbrook Guest House
#4 of 48 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#5 of 48 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbour House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbour House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 19 Walrond Road, Swanage BH19 1PB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arbour House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arbour House B&B is a large Edwardian house in a residential area well located just 300 metres from the main sandy beach in Swanage, Dorset. All rooms en-suite. 5/10 minutes scenic walk along the promenade into town with shops, restaurants, bars, pubs, coffee shops etc. 5 minutes walk to Sandpit Field, the main venue for the festivals, carnival etc. We offer a warm welcome and a relaxed and informal family atmosphere. Recently refurbished with comfortable beds, modern bathrooms and locally sourced breakfasts with plenty of choice, such as smoked salmon, bagels, scrambled egg, fresh fruit, yoghurts and cereals plus of course the choice of a large, full English breakfast will ensure you have a pleasurable stay with us. FREE PARKING in our car park, plus free unrestricted on road parking makes it easy and hassle free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Arbour House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing