We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor service”
Review of Gee whites

Gee whites
Ranked #10 of 83 Restaurants in Swanage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very poor service”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Was seated at a table for nearly 10 minutes whilst 3 members of staff ignored us. They served two tables next to ours and despite my attempts to attract their attention not one member of staff came to our table.

Left and went elsewhere.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    159
    37
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“not so great”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Great Location, beautiful view unfortunately average food and average service.
not sure if I will be back here

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JOANNA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Downstairs - Poor Upstairs !!!!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Not sure if it's the same owners for both areas, hope not....
Both very different levels of food and service.
Downstairs good as always. Food quality good as always. Staff ok given it's early in the holidays but need to sharpen up if it wants to keep its reputation. Fish very fresh and quickly served. Well done.

Upstairs however not good !!!
Menu very limited, mainly Tapas which was ok but very overpriced.
Service however was very poor. 2 girls working both tables and bar simply not enough. Very slow.
Guessing this place will be busy throughout the summer as it has an open top dining and drinking area. Views over bay beautiful but nicer places to get a view at more value for money.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrGTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
111 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Good food, good location, inexperienced staff”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We went to Gee Whites as bit of a posh fish and chips alternative, taking my wife, 2 young kids and mother.
Let's get the good stuff out of the way first! The location is great, right on the quay side with plenty of outside tables and people to watch going by. The food itself was good, we had a variety of dishes and they were all tasty and reasonably priced. I would say the fish and chips was the star of the show, with an excellent (almost doughnut like) batter. Serving the kids meals in a bucket and spade was a lovely touch and the kids got excited at their new toy! In terms of the food, the least successful was probably the green Thai fish curry, possibly too far from their core offering to be convincing.
There wasn't a huge alcohol menu, but we found a bottle of wine we liked and they were happy for us to get milkshakes from the stall next door for the kids.
The service however brings me to a difficult point in the review, I want to this rate it highly as they were happy to change parts of the order and add in extra bits but I just can't. There were a number of times when one of us had to go and fetch the waitress, not for anything out of the ordinary, just for bits you'd expect would be part of the general process (an offer of sauces after delivering the meal? etc.). I don't think it was that they were busy (although they were, they were out of 3 different things on the menu) or lazy or rude. My gut reaction is that it was that there were a large number of the waitresses who seemed 'new' and just hadn't built up the experience of how a standard waitress works well. Like I said, they couldn't have been more pleasant once asked!
So would I go back? Probably. Especially once the staff have a couple of weeks under their belts.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank El_Badgerino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food quality”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Had expected to have hake from here but they could only offer cod when I went. Still, it was very good, very tasty. Good location.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gee whites also viewed

Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to Gee whites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing