We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must”
Review of Windjammers - CLOSED

Windjammers
Price range: US$3 - US$13
Cuisines: Spanish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Must”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Staff are friendly helpful and give you time and space. The food is local and fresh and excellent. Been coming to Swanage for over 30 years and this is always a place we have to go to.
Also has wi fi and again your not rushed while your checking out your emails over breakfast. Just love it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    32
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
LHR
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Tapas bar with very good service and quality”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We had a lovely meal last Friday and were amazed at the value for money, we had 7 different dishes and bottle of wine at a cost of £40 for two people, which was very good value.

This is such a charming place with great staff that we were already deciding on our next visit before we had left. Although it isn't in the main high street it is just a five minute stroll from it and I thoroughly recommend a visit. There were plenty of dishes to choose from and I fail to see how you could not be happy.

Thank you for a lovely evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christineCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We ordered five dishes one was eatable, four sent back due to them being cold/Luke warm. As we sat at the table we noticed the wine glasses still had a drop of wine in them and we asked that they be changed. Our food came a second time but we would not eat here again. The food was rubbish, and we felt sorry for the young waitress who was the only staff member to apologise and we received no apology from management which was really poor customer service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NeilFebruary2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average experience”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Popped in for a cuppa and a snack. The tables were sticky and waited a while for the food. The food was good once arrived and its nice to have this place off the beaten track.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HSJ85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Food very good indeed but service needs improving”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We ate here for the first time this week. Owner was welcoming and we were served drinks very quickly. We chose 11 tapas dishes and they arrived very quickly and all piping hot. However that is where the good service ended.

Upon finishing we were not asked if we wanted anything else such as desserts or more drinks, coffee etc. We waited for this while staff stood around chatting (in clear view of our empty table) and after half an hour just decided to ask for the bill. We hoped at that point that someone would ask how everything was and we could have said it would have been nice to be offered "anything else". But they didnt.

We thought the food was lovely which is what would bring us back here. However, sorry guys but £5 for 4 bread rolls is not acceptable - apparently one of the dishes states bread for £2.50 and if you ask for more than 2 rolls it is another £2.50. Not good form when you are spending in excess of £60 - they could throw in an extra couple of rolls.

As a result we didn't tip - which is most unlike us!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CelMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Windjammers also viewed

 
Langton Matravers, Swanage
 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing