We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An artistic break in Swanage” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 55 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“An artistic break in Swanage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

I stayed here recently with my wife for a weekend break. On our arrival we were offered a cup of tea which was a nice touch. The property is very clean and decorated in a relaxing blue & white throughout with many seaside pictures (some, possibly all, by the artistic owner Sam). The thing I really liked was the breakfast; you were given a menu and could select whatever combination you wanted from this; I especially liked the sausages and the cherry tomatoes: Croissants were also on the menu. The communal breakfast table encourages holiday banter with fellow guests. The free on street parking combined with a shortish level walk to the seafront means there are lots of things to see and do without driving anywhere. Seahouse has a dog (Edward) and he was quite friendly and (importantly) quiet at night. We did have problem with the TV which I'm sure Sam has since sorted.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seajay2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    16
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
62
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

This was one of the best B&B's we've stayed in...and definitely on the top of my list for Swanage!
Sam the owner gave us a really warm welcome, especially as we had left it really late before booking.
Her house is a real 'Taste of the Sea', just what you want for a seaside break!
Our room was a spacious twin, spotlessly clean and well equipped.... and the beds were really comfortable.
Breakfast was delicious, with a good selection to choose from the menu. The blue decor, wooden floors and 'seaside' art work (Sams own) made the breakfast room a real pleasure to sit in.
Even the 10 minute walk down to the beach didn't seem far - and by avoiding the noise of the town centre, we had a really peaceful few nights. Parking for free - right outside the door was really convenient too.
Sam was really helpful in telling us about where to visit and how to get there. Nothing was too much trouble.
The only bad thing was having to leave - and we can't wait to go back again. :0)

Room Tip: The four poster for a bit of extravagance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billybluetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

We stayed as part of a long weekend to see where my family used to live in Swanage, plus a visit to see Monkeyworld and Tank Museum a few miles away. We found it a nice pleasant and quiet B&B about 10 minutes walk from the town centre. Parking easily available in the road outside the house. Sam the landlady was very sociable and helpful.
We stayed in the room with the four poster bed and found the room comfortable bright and clean. Both my girlfriend and I are very light sleepers and found the curtains could have been a bit thicker as the light did wake us quite early, we did speak to Sam about it and she took it on board as positive feedback. Would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GCB1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sea-houseswanage, Owner at Sea House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 April 2011
Thank you for your review. Just to let future guests know these guests were unlucky in the neighbour leaving a security light on, not usual but thanks to their comments I have now changed and lined the curtains, all our curtains are lined. Blackout lined in the twin/superking for those who prefer this. Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

Only had one night here, used it for stopover while finishing the Southwest Coast Path, good location just a 5 minute walk down to the town centre. Lots of good places to eat nearby. Was able to park right outside of Sea House in the road which is just off the main road into Swanage. Tha bed was great, our room had two singles pushed together to make a giant king size! Lovely breakfast in the morning to set us up for the day ahead. Lots of nice artwork on the walls, all done by Samantha. Nice to be able to meet the two dogs, very friendly. Would stay again if ever we go to Swanage again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RogerCaroleswcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

Excellent B&B ideally located in Victorian part of Swanage a short walk from town centre and beech. Beautifully decorated with many sea side artefacts and original art by Sam and Peter the most hospitable owners. We were delighted that there were two very friendly dogs who were only allowed into guest area to see us because we asked, so would not be an issue for anyone not fond of animals. Very comfortable four poster bed and immaculate en-suite. Full English breakfast flawlessly served with toast of choice arriving just when required with main course. Plenty of cereal fruit juice and coffee. For evenings very fine cuisine, real ale and fine wine hostelries Black Swan and Red Lion a short walk away. Hard to think how such a super place could be improved, highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Customer975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.4 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Millbrook Guest House
Millbrook Guest House
#3 of 55 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Swanage Haven
The Swanage Haven
#1 of 55 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sea House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 7 Cecil Road, Swanage BH19 1JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely bed and breakfast in Swanage. Edwardian Seaside home run as a B&B by Sam. I look forward to welcoming you to Swanage. Online bookable at seahousebedandbreakfastswanage. Within an easy flat stroll of both town and beach, free on street parking outside. Door code provided so that you may come and go as you please. We offer a warm welcome, comfortable rooms and hearty breakfast. All rooms ensuite. Only non hair shedding dog breeds. Breed is required to book. Thank you ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea House Bed And Breakfast Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing