We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Millbrook was a great place to stay.x I”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Millbrook Guest House
Ranked #4 of 48 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
westbury wiltshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Millbrook was a great place to stay.x I”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Very nice place to stay.
Warm welcome.
very good staff.lovely breakfast
Rooms so clean it was like home from home.
Thank you all for a nice one night stay.
We will be back
.
Brenda and Brendon Hill
Westbury
Wiltshire


  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrenH263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    47
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
185
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This is a very pleasant place,on Kings Road ,very close to all amenities and run by a lovely couple,Bob and Lynne,with considerable assistance from their son and daughter.All are very friendly and will do their best to make sure you have an enjoyable stay.We stayed in their top rated room which they called the Purbeck Suite-£75 per night,but reasonable value considering the room size, the bed size (6ft) and the general ambience.Draw space and cupboard space is a bit limited,but we did stay for a week so we normally find this as most B and Bs seem to cater for only a few nights stay. Two minor niggles-if you're in the Purbeck Suite or the twin room next door they face onto the relatively busy Kings Road ,and traffic including buses starts at 6 in the morning-you might like to specify a room at the back if you're light sleepers. Also, the coffee at breakfast was very weak and watery-however, to my amazement I heard one lady ask for more hot water in it!! Nevertheless, the tea was fine so it didn't spoil things and overall,it was a lovely week- thanks folks!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slimtimBanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The Millbrook is well located, within a 5 minute walk of the railway/bus station and Co-op supermarket. A further 10 minutes walk brings you to the town centre and sea. We were warmly welcomed and had a large bright and airy ensuite room on the top floor. (Up 2 flights of stairs, but no problem to us as our luggage was wafted up and down by Bob). Some traffic noise during the day, but quiet at night. Car parking is off-road behind the property. There are enough spaces for all, with a little co-operation, and we had no problem. Bed comfortable and warm and a good breakfast menu. Lynne and Bob are a delightful couple, and we felt at home right away. We drove from Wareham and the directions provided were clear. Altogether a first-class and well-liked guest house, as shown by the number of repeat visitors we met there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The Millbrook is in a great location in Swanage close to the railway and a short walk from the town center and beach. It offers parking which is very useful at busy times. The owners are very friendly and accomodating. The rooms are well maintained, of a good size and kept clean and tidy, the beds (we had two in our room) were comfortable. Breakfast is well cooked and of good portion size. We have booked provisionally for a return next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ant_and_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We've just returned from a 4-night stay at Millbrook for Swanage Folk Festival. This was approx our 5th time staying there and we can thoroughly recommend it.

Bob & Lynne always cater to our every need and can offer expert advice on the area. The guest house is beautifully decorated, with comfortable beds and a very good cooked breakfast. The guest house is kept absolutely spotlessly clean.

The location is very convenient (just opposite the church), and is a short walk to the beaches, the town centre and the railway station.

We're already booked in for next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinobj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2013

What a lovely place, perfect location on 2 minutes walk to centre and beach (Co-op just over the road), lovely rooms and fantastic breakfast.
Myself, husband and my parents stayed here for one night (wish we had stayed longer) and booked the two rooms on the top floor which share a bathroom. Initially I was worried as we prefer en suite rooms, but the bathroom was lovely and was private to our two rooms. They also provide a bathrobe which is useful. Our bedrooms were great and it was useful having a sink in the bedroom. Everything had been thought of, even to the point where there was a box of tissues in the room.
Lovely place, will definitely go back and stay again. Fantastic value for money and the photos on the website don't do it any justice.
Thanks for a lovely stay :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbilli81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed for the weekend recently and have nothing but positive things go say about Millbrook and Swanage in general. Millbrook is a fantastic guest house where you are made to feel really welcome. The rooms are clean, well presented, the location is ideal and its tremendous value for money. The owners are very friendly and cook a decent breakfast, perfect for setting you up for your morning travels. Swanage is a nice location with plenty to offer, especially if you like getting out and about. We will definitely be coming back to Swanage and Millbrook soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CowboyFarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Swanage Haven
The Swanage Haven
#1 of 48 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Robertsbrook Guest House
Robertsbrook Guest House
#12 of 48 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millbrook Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbrook Guest House

Property: Millbrook Guest House
Address: 56 Kings Road West, Swanage BH19 1HR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Millbrook Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millbrook guest house has been in our family for over 20 years and has all the amenities you require for a great stay here in the beautiful and historic seaside town of Swanage. We have the added benefit of our own off road car park and offer free high speed wi-fi throughout. All our rooms are recently decorated to a high standard and will offer you a very comfortable stay at competitive rates. As a family run bed and breakfast we take great pride in our cleanliness and service. From the laundry and cleaning to the decor, we treat our guest rooms as our own to ensure we maintain the highest of standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Millbrook Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millbrook Guest House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing