We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Millbrook Guest House
Ranked #4 of 47 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Slimbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Guest House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed two nights while on a dive trip, and found the B&B to be beautifully maintained and the owners to be very friendly and welcoming. We stayed in one of the rooms that is not ensuite (just taking the cheapest room available on Booking.com) but found the shared wetroom shower/toilet spotlessly clean.
We have early starts for diving – well before the official breakfast time – but Anthony still made sure we were fed and watered before we headed out!
Would definitely recommmend to anyone wanting to to stay in Swange (and will be advising our dive club that this will be the B&B of choice when we're next down again).
Many thanks

Room Tip: The ensuite rooms gve you more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveW2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    46
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
182
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is a very clean, well-maintained, friendly B & B within five minutes walk of the centre of Swanage.
The car park is situated just behind Millbrook, a minute's walk away. Anthony was very pleasant and helpful. We had Room 3 on the first floor, overlooking the main road, but we were not troubled by traffic noise. We were there on a Sunday, and the church bells added to the charm! There was plenty of wardrobe space, tea, hot chocolate, coffee and biscuits, and the shower cream in the bathroom was an added bonus. The breakfast was good, with very prompt service. We have stayed here before, and shall do so again. Well recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We only stayed for one night but were very impressed with the high standard of decor and cleanliness. The bed was comfortable and the bedding of a high quality. Very comfortable. The breakfast was very good, plenty, even for a good appetite.

Our friends and I stayed in the only two rooms the are not en suite, we knew this before we arrived. We would definitely stay again but next time in an en suite room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martinbond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed at Millbrook for 2 nights during the blues festival in room 8, the family room. The room had just been decorated and is light, airy and spacious with very comfy beds. Everywhere is well maintained and very clean. The full english breakfast was delicious and our son was made to feel very welcome with the offer of tea, coffee or chocolate milkshake!!! The owners were very welcoming, and offered advice about the best places to eat in the evenings. All in all, we were very impressed by the standard of the guest house and look forward to staying there again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed as a family of four in the family en-suite room for two nights while having a short break away. Anthony and his wife Tracey have now taken over from Anthony's father Bob as the owners of the B&B and we read complimentary reviews before staying, I can confirm that the standards have not dropped. We had a lovely, bright, extremely clean and spacious room and the public parts of the B&B were also very clean with a modern, attractive décor. Breakfast was delicious, there was plenty of it and Anthony was happy to accommodate our children's requests. We had his daughter help one morning serve the toast - she is very sweet. The B&B is excellently located, very close to the beach, centre of town and Swanage railway. Off-street parking is a bonus. Anthony also has a wealth of knowledge about the local area, things to do and see and festivals that may appeal. I would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacsfaithfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony J, Owner at Millbrook Guest House, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for the lovely review, as this was the first of the new year I had to respond, hopefully it will be the first of many for 2014.
There's also more good news, we have redecorated the Family Room that you stayed in and also our Breakfast Room, including new chair coverings.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We enjoyed a few days in Swanage, staying at this slightly old fashioned place. Mainly families and elderly people staying there. The room was clean, and comfortable, with tea and coffee provided, with a view onto the high street, and everything was working. It's close to the centre, but just outside the main drag, so was pretty quiet. The owners were business like and efficient. Bob was around to move cars from the car park so everyone could get in and out. The breakfast was hearty but i was a bit disappointed with instant coffee, the next day i had tea which was fine. There was nothing really wrong with the breakfast, a bit no thrills, but perfectly good for the price. The granddaughter was helping out at breakfast time who was really sweet. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatildaW190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We just enjoyed a three-night half term break with our 16 year old daughter, with the aim of visiting some geographical features of the Dorset coast to make up for her missing her A level Geography field trip.

We chose the Milbrook because of its central location, its reasonable price and because it looked well-maintained and cared-for from the website details.

The best thing about this B&B are that the owners clearly care about it and their guests, and everything works. Rooms spotlessly clean and cleaned daily, furniture new and paint fresh, Requisites refreshed. Clear notices. Free wifi etc.

The location is perfect - on the road out of town for a quick getaway, off-street parking and it's only a 5 minute walk to the town centre for restaurants, Swanage Railway etc. And it meant we could walk to Old Harry rocks without using the car.

Breakfast was great and freshly prepared with tasty muesli, lovely toast and Earl Grey tea on request. The only think which would improve matters would be "finest" rather than "value" sausages but hey that's personal taste and I am sure that Bob and Lynne will have worked out by now what goes down best!

Finally we left a pair of trousers by accident in the wardrobe and the owners were very helpful in finding them and getting them back to us.

All in all highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7 Durdle Door - on the main road but we never noticed the traffic. It had a doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Swanage Haven
The Swanage Haven
#1 of 47 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Robertsbrook Guest House
Robertsbrook Guest House
#12 of 47 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millbrook Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbrook Guest House

Property: Millbrook Guest House
Address: 56 Kings Road West, Swanage BH19 1HR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Millbrook Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millbrook guest house has been in our family for over 20 years and has all the amenities you require for a great stay here in the beautiful and historic seaside town of Swanage. We have the added benefit of our own off road car park and offer free high speed wi-fi throughout. All our rooms are recently decorated to a high standard and will offer you a very comfortable stay at competitive rates. As a family run bed and breakfast we take great pride in our cleanliness and service. From the laundry and cleaning to the decor, we treat our guest rooms as our own to ensure we maintain the highest of standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Millbrook Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millbrook Guest House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing