We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food Bland - too expensive”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Tawny's Wine Bar

Tawny's Wine Bar
Ranked #12 of 82 Restaurants in Swanage
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food Bland - too expensive”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Second trip to Tawneys last Friday, did not have a high opinion of it on the first visit, however was prepared to give it another go. Menu leans towards the fishy side not great if you have a fish/shell fish allergy. Thought the duck sounded good however the price of £19.95 was exoribitant, so i opted for the vegitarian cheese pie, to say it was bland and tasteless is an understatement, it was more akin to a Sainsburys value item than something supposedly freshly cooked in what purports to be a 'high end' restaurant. Needless to say i will not be visiting again, stick to the Red Lion at least their food is 'honest'

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainTed999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    88
    25
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Went to Tawny's with a large group last night expecting meal to be ok but was pleasantly surprised to find it was way better than ok. I had the sea bass with couscous which was really enjoyable. Perfectly cooked fillets of sea bass and tasty couscous. Other diners were happy with their meals although someone did comment that the naan bread with their curry was a bit hard. The young serving staff were cheerful and charming. Really nice service. Dessert was an amazing walnut fudge meringue concoction reminiscent of the walnut whip. Strictly for the sweet toothed. The wine list was quite good with plenty to please but a little over priced. We had a bottle of Sancerre which was fine but a little pricey at £25.
Overall it was very good and I will be going back for more soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheCriticSwanage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

First night in Swanage tried Tawnys and really enjoyed our meal and the service was good. We would recommend this restaurant .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NeilFebruary2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice wine bar with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We liked the atmosphere and the staff were very friendly. The menu was good, maybe a bit pricey but the food arrived promptly and was nicely arranged.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JBraybrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Gone down hill since last visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Clearly a lack of leadership as the restaurant is run by inexperienced staff, especially the young male waiter who served us last Thursday night. He was more interested in stroking a dog in the restaurant (didn't see him wash his hands afterwards, went straight to deal with other customers) rather than concentrate on his job.

We were not alone as other tables were receiving the same poor service. Some people receiving main meals without side salad, only to be brought the side salad after they had eaten their meal. But more importantly their friends were still waiting for their meals after pudding were severed to others on the same table.

We waited far too long and in the end had to tell the waiter that unless our deserts were on our table soon we would walk. the restaurant was not overly busy so the owner needs to bring about some serious changes if things are to improve.

I also had to wait for 30 minutes in order to be brought a beer.

All in all an irritating evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete_Charlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tawny's Wine Bar also viewed

Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to Tawny's Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing