We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I was expecting”
Review of Brook Tea Rooms

Brook Tea Rooms
Ranked #5 of 7 Coffee & Tea in Swanage
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
610 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Not what I was expecting”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We stopped here as it was only place serving a sit down meal at 5pm. On entering I wasn't sure, it looked a bit tired and dated but as they say "never judge a book by its cover"

The food was fantastic quality, plenty of it and at a good price. There were 6 adults, all of us had something different and none of us left a scrap of food on our plates. The ribs were melt in the mouth, the steak tender and juicy, fish was cook to perfection. I think the most noises came from the 2 that had the Coney Island hot dog and the homemade burger.

They also had whole lobster, local mackerel and other home made dishes.

The facilities could do with being renovated, if the menu hadn't been on the board outside I would have walked straight passed this place but I'm glad we gave it a chance.

I would definitely go back if I was in swanage again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank no1missmarple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    99
    51
    41
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staines, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good quality sandwiches”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stopped by for lunch and sat outside. Great views across Swanage Bay while we waited. Served efficiently and in a friendly way. The sandwiches we had - crab and prawn - were of an excellent quality. They were filled to the brim and were extremely tasty. Needless to say, we'll be back next time we're in Swanage.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth dorset
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Coney Island Dog at it's best”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Visited brook tea room late afternoon on 18th august 2014. The staff were very attentive. So glad we ordered Coney island dog and homemade smokey burger. Both were awesome. The coney island dog was in a half french stick and covered in chilli and melted cheese with a side garnish and fries..The burger was a fat steak burger with melted cheese and bacon with a side garnish and chips and it was to die for..Very impressed with the fantastic food, great service and amazing views through the window across the bay. We would definitely recommend Brook Tea rooms 110%

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smartymarty255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice food !!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We visited this tearoom on a busy Wednesday we only had sandwiches and pot of tea. Sandwiches were served with a salad and some crisps which were lovely I had a crab sandwich and my partner had ham both were served on lovely soft bloomer bread would definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank jellied1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great staff Great Location & Excellent food!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Firstly I have to say we have eaten here several times over the last couple of years and I do not understand the poor staff review below??
Without a doubt the staff are always really friendly and like a little banter.
This time we decided to have a large evening meal so 1Kg of mussels, 1 rack of ribs & a "Childs" burger later we were stuffed, overwhelmed by the delicious food and agreeing we wish we had had more evening meals here!
The Childs burger was huge and my 8 year old was putting it away like a caveman.
I was surprised just how delicious the seafood was as this can be got wrong so easily.
The owner offered a warm welcome and we will go back for more meals and of course the delicious tea & cake.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2013Monkeyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brook Tea Rooms also viewed

Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to Brook Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing