We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice landlord” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crows Nest Inn

The Crows Nest Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Crows Nest Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 81 Restaurants in Swanage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Crows Nest Inn is a family run pub located inn Swanage, in the heart of Dorset. The pub serves a full selection of draught beers, wines and spirits for your enjoyment along with a lovely range of soft drinks for those drivers and non-drinkers. The pubs fantastic atmosphere and friendly staff make The Crows Nest Inn a pub everyone wants to spend the day. Situated on the premises is a large beer garden and a children's play area, parents can have a refreshing drink during the warm summer months while the children play. Disabled access and friendly staff are on hand throughout the pubs premises, making this pub easily accessible for all. To keep everyone amused there is a retro 1980's gaming table on the premises. The Crows Nest Inn boasts a carefully selected menu using the freshest, locally sourced food around! Freshly prepared traditional classics and modern favourites are served to perfection every day. All special occasions such as Birthdays, Christenings and Weddings can be catered for in the pubs restaurants area, which can accommodate up to 50 guests at any one time. So whether it's a quiet drink or a lively night out The Crows Nest Inn is the place to be.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice landlord”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We popped in on the off chance as we were looking for something to eat for lunch & after looking on trip advisor this was rated around 11th in Swanage! Unfortunately there was no food available as there was a function on. The Landlord & Landlady were very nice & had great rapport, however the place itself was dated, the toilets were disgusting & I had to hover as I wouldn't sit down, & after my Little one used the loo, I covered him in sanitiser! Sadly the clientele was not great either, so we left rather quickly after finishing our drinks which were blessedly served in clean glasses!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sam o, Manager at The Crows Nest Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2015
Since taking over the Crows Nest Inn in October 2014 we have strived to make big improvements decoratively and in the kitchen whilst changing the menu every couple months to ensure we are making our food choices better every time.
We see you have left a review whilst under different management, we would love for you to return and see if we can change your view and rating of The Crows Nest Inn.
Thank you
Crows Nest Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    111
    47
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a lovely meal in this restaurant, the staff were really friendly and the food exceptional. Had to go for a walk along the beach afterwards as had far to much because it was delicious. We were staying across the road so the Crows Nest was very handy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MRS L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Burger night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Can't fault this place and we are regulars for the Friday night burger night. Great garden for the children. Lovely relaxed friendly pub x

Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Suprising Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The pub is slightly dated and a little intimidating inside - however the landlord seemed like a good chap and the food was excellent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good lively pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

A group of 11 of us ate there recently as we were staying in the area and ad booked a table.. It was a Friday evening and the pub was busy. There was a good choice of food on the menu, the staff and service were excellent and we all had a very enjoyable evening. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank keaKernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crows Nest Inn also viewed

Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to The Crows Nest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing