We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very grand!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Swanage
Certificate of Excellence
Littlehampton
Level Contributor
73 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very grand!”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We stayed in the main house, which has such character compared to the Lodge. No fault with a first floor bedroom, very clean. Breakfast excellent, and all the staff pleasant and willing to please. We took advantage of a three night stay for the price of two making it very good value. Lovely gardens and a large carpark. Good position for shops, restaurants and the seafront. Would recommend.

Room Tip: No lift in the main house so perhaps for some better to choose a first floor room or a stay in the L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaLittlehampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    190
    74
    24
    26
See reviews for
81
277
36
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baughurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

The hotel as a large car park (important in Swanage), but the main building, bar and restaurant are showing their age. Louisa Lodge is a new build and feels a bit like a motel. The Lodge is located in the grounds away from the main building, which can be an issue is the wether is bad. the hotel location in the High Street is good for accessing restaurants and bars in the town.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWC2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ex-Tyke-Baz
Level Contributor
134 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The Purbeck House Hotel is an interesting building, with a lot of restored features from its days as a convent. By contrast, Louisa Lodge is more like a motel. We availed ourselves of the three-night break option, which, for the style and location, seemed excellent value..
The staff were entirely pleasant and courteous, and the semi-buffet breakfast was the best I have ever had in a hotel.
We did not eat evening meals in the hotel restaurant, simply because there is a good selection of establishments down in the town.
The room windows in my room were hard to open - necessary, because, for me, the hotel was a bit too warm.
The low water pressure meant that a shower was a long winded affair.
Although there is no lift, access to the first floor is a comfortable climb up a wide stairway.
The second floor seems somewhat harder.
All in all, I would thoroughly recommend this place - but not for those with walking diffulties.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are better, and those facing the gardens quieter, although Swanage was no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Appenazow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hook, Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Stayed in the Louisa Lodge for a couple of nights on a family break - the family rooms in the lodge are great as they kids had their own room upstairs with a staircase leading up from our room. Very good arrangement if your kids are too old to be in with parents but not old enough for their own room. The lodge itself is a bit Travelodge-ish and the decor is rather tired and dated. Our room was superficially clean but on closer inspection there was thick dust on the lights over the bed, the bathroom could have done with half an hour with a bottle of bleach and I found rubbish from previous occupants down the side of the bed (I reported the latter to the hotel who were apologetic and sorted it out....but that's not really the point). Breakfast was excellent and the staff were courteous and helpful but my overall impression was that nobody really cared - they were going through the motions but I didn't feel there was much desire to make things really great. The main hotel has a faded grandeur which is lovely and the shower in our bathroom was fab. I'm rating it as average because it would be an exaggeration to say it's very good, however I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Stayed overnight for work in September 2012. The receptionist was helpful, polite and efficient. The hotel itself is of the "fading grandeur" style, a term not offered as a criticism but to paint a picture. Louisa Lodge, some 25m walk across the garden, is more Travelodge, but perfectly comfortable. The cooked breakfast was good, served in a large conservatory style extension to the hotel. A reason for staying here is the town and beaches, with a few restaurants/bistros and numerous pubs which look inviting, all within 2-3 minutes walk of the hotel. The National Trust's Studland Beach a short drive away is stunning, and the cafe is great for food all day.

Room Tip: Hotel - faded grandeur, Louisa Lodge - Travelodge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DominicPearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2012

The staff in this place are honestly the best I've encountered. Professional, courteous and friendly. The main building is a glorious throw back to the forties and early fifties. (but with wi-fi!) ;) I had a double room, plenty big enough, with a shower that stayed at an even temperature and flow! :O But, my Dad had a single room, er... compact and bijou, I think is the term! mind your head! My Uncle had a single room in the new building, this also was of a design for smaller people. Lots of angles to bang ones head on. So if you are over six foot, watch it! Ample parking, once you've negotiated the entrance. Lovely grounds, look out for the gold fish, they have to cage them! Enjoy.

Room Tip: Try for 4,5 or 6. The best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I would like to bet that this is one of the best places to stay in Swanage and if your touring around the Jurassic Coast its a pretty good place to stay.Its also an interesting place from an architectural aspect having once been a rather grand merchants house and a convent. Parts of it could do with a little care and attention but overall its in pretty good shape .I have stayed here often and eaten dinner here on numerous occasions. Never had anything bad but have sometimes been surprised by the limited choice whilst on other occasions the've excelled themselves.I have to say I have always found the breakfast to be fine and dandy and if you order a paper when you book in you will find it in the Dining Room so don't lie in bed petulantly awaiting its arrival, They will do special deals especially off season and I have visited here at least 10 times and I am not a Masochist. The great thing is it feels like a family hotel but is not overbearing or over familiar and it has a pleasant garden and ample car parking which is a major plus in Swanage.If asked they will make Gaellic/Irish Coffee * star rating for that then !

Room Tip: stay in the old part ~its more fun > who wants modern only business sorts with stupidly short hai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
909 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
406 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,444 reviews
6.4 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
7.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge

Property: Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
Address: 91 High Street, Swanage BH19 2LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Purbeck House Hotel, "An Oasis of Relaxation and Enjoyment." Purbeck House Hotel is a family-run hotel steeped in over a century of history. Nestled in extensive gardens in the centre of Swanage, close to shopping centre, Pub, Restaurant, this unique family-run hotel combines the atmosphere of a traditional country house with all the amenities of a modern hotel. Steeped in history, the 38 bedrooms are divided between the main house, constructed in 1875, and the newly-built Louisa Lodge (completed in 2003). All of the bedrooms are en suite, Tea/Coffee making facilities, LED HD Flat Screen TV, Iphone Docking Station, Iron and Iron Board, Direct Dial Telephone, Free Broadband WiFi Connection and some have sea or garden views. The hotel has a large car park and is only 300 yards from the sea front and the clean, sandy beaches.This Family howne this Hotel for the last 15 Years ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Swanage
Purbeck House Hotel And Louisa Lodge
Purbeck Hotel Louisa
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing