We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pig on the Beach(Studland Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knoll House Hotel(Studland Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mortons House Hotel(Corfe Castle)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Bankes Arms Hotel(Corfe Castle)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (566)
Filter reviews
566 results
Traveller rating
212
215
82
26
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
212
215
82
26
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingno liftinteresting featuresold houselovely hotelhigh streetsea viewlarge conservatorysuperior roomtraditional hotelhotel is situatedcooked breakfastone night stayfew minutes walkstayed for nightsvery pleasant staycentre of town
Filter
Updating list...
394 - 399 of 566 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Feb very cold but Swanage is good all year round , no complaints at all with the hotel ,breakfast was good , staff good , very clean and will be going back again as soon as we can,We had a room in the Luiseanna part of the hotel which is a short walk through the gardens to the main building this was no problem atall to us as we were prepared for this time of the year , plenty of car parking and in the hotel real log burning fires to warm you up ,we will be back for more

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MuzandDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

we stayed at this hotel in feb and we stayed in the new part of the hotel.
all i can really say is it is ok. the room was ok, and even though we asked for a double room and not a twin it was 2 beds pushed together and it was very uncomfortable falling down the crack in the middle of the bed. and the mattress,s were also very soft. went to the bar to get a drink in the evening and the pint i wanted they could only offer me in cans as they said the pump had run out. the breakfast was very good with tasty sausages and good bacon.
the position of the hotel is purfect being a very short walk into the main town.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baz383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Sadly showing its age - the room we had was rather dull but just about OK. I have knocked a star off for breakfast, it was just not well executed, almost as if the chef doesn't work weekend mornings and it was cooked by a kitchen porter - the was also the matter of mouldy bread waiting to go in the toaster. Position though is fantastic, the center of town is right on the doorstep which makes this the best placed hotel in town - I would go back for that reason alone.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
Thank Shoosting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

The Purbeck House Hotel provides comfortable, spacious accommodation close to the middle of Swanage and the coast, and with easy access to the lovely landscapes of Purbeck. It has a good restaurant and ample parking space. Although the hotel was quiet during our January stay it was well heated, and the staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful.

The main building has many interesting historical decorations as it was built by a local dignitary who “recycled” items from the demolition of major buildings in London, as well as commissioning new features such as mosaic floors.

Louisa Lodge, where we stayed, is a more modern annex across the garden. The room was large and comfortable, although as it snowed while we were there it did mean we had to wear coats to go across to the main building.

We were there making use of the reduced rate for winter. It would not be quite such good value at full price.

Room Tip: Louisa Lodge rooms are more modern. You have a view of the garden, which you have to cross to get to breakfast, etc.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

A birthday treat for my husband, fantastic building ,service and food .Dawn was chatty and helpful . A family run business you can tell from the atmosphere . This is the most beautiful Victorian Gothic house so if you want magnolia walls and brown leather square furniture (boring )dont stay here ,because it is chintz and more chintz which is how it should be .The web site pictures dont do the rooms justice they are very impressive . Cant wait to go again . THANK YOU

Room Tip: Room 7 a standard room was fantastic , with the most amazing view of the town and the sea. A bit of road traffic noise ,so rooms at the back with garden views probably quieter . I would take the sea view every time .
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank helenmoore38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews