We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is something we call faith”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Swanage
Certificate of Excellence
Dresden, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It is something we call faith”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

After having a long and exhausting trip from Germany by car and several business meetings we were praying to find something cozy enough to sleep over in Swanage, We never expected to find something like Purbeck House Hotel!!! And for that we have to thank the Administration of Swanage that had closed the Victoria Avenue that night and we have wondered the small and empty streets of the city. My friend and I are totally inlove with this house! The nice lady gave us the best room with see view and fireplace, it was like going back in time. We could imagine ourselves how back in the days that could have been the owner´s bedroom. We even took a walk through the house at 7 AM barefoot. The amazing garden, small patios and bungallows, very tasteful decorated rooms and lounges, the winter garden with beautiful decorations, natural stone and not to forget the safe parking space. O, and the breakfast! The best one I had in UK! We had a wonderful time and enjoyed every square meter of this beautiful house and if we will ever come back tu UK, I will definately go to Swanage to stay at the Purbeck House! Many thanks to the owner and his family and employees for ensuring such a nice atmosphere and for making us feel like home! Viele Grüße aus Dresden! Herzchlich, Iulia

Room Tip: The main house has amazing sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    190
    74
    24
    26
See reviews for
81
277
36
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Amazing Stay.. Was like stepping back in time.. The Hotel its rooms and Gardens were just wonderfull ..Huge Room with stunning view over the Gardens and beyond. room was very clean and comfortable. En suite was clean. only down side was water pressure was a little low in the shower. The Bar and all the other rooms were Great to just sit and relax. Breakfast was very good with wide selection and very plentiful . Hotel is located in good position for access to town centre and beaches only being a short walk away. Easy access and plenty of parking. We Had a Very enjoyable and relaxing stay at Purbeck House, Staff were very helpful, polite and made every effort to make our stay enjoyable. We WILL be staying there next time we visit the area and Can Thoroughly Recommend Purbeck House Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton
Level Contributor
73 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Have enjoyed a room (no. 5) in the main house many times, but on the last occasion was given no.6. but as the windows would not open exchanged for a room in Louisa Lodge, the new annex, and had a brilliant large room which means in future will choose to stay there, seeing as you can still make use of the beautiful main house. As always the breakfast buffet was excellent with such a vast selection which should suit all, fresh fruit, juices, cheese, ham, smoked salmon, cereals, yogurts, various breads etc., and not forgetting a great choice of cooked edibles. The staff throughout the hotel are all pleasant and helpful. Cant wait for the next stay. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaLittlehampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Centrally located in Swanage with good parking reached along narrow drive. The main hotel on a grey, misty drizzly day looked like a film set; a huge lovely wooden staircase, old style wall paper & drapes and no one on reception! We rang twice! Elderly folk were relaxing on chairs in the lounges - interesting! We were given a room in Louisa Lodge- the exact opposite to the house- a new extension with a huge room, excellent shower, tea/coffee making facilities and clean, comfortable beds.
The breakfast in the conservatory was good - freshly cooked and hot. The omelette lacked of garnish and fresh fruit would have been nice but plenty of tea to drink. The gardens were lovely and the history of the hotel very interesting. Would I return? -Yes!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SENCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Had a great stay - place with lots of character - quite quirky. Food - very good. Had a superb room that was very spacious. Old house with the occasional noise but to be expected (not your modern/bijou accommodation but better for it).

Staff very friendly & accommodating.

Superb location - would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swellmaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Outside looks impressive. Inside, the old architecture looks great, lovely the coloured tiled floors and high ceilings. The decor is quirky in throwing old wall paper, old drapes, old chairs and carpets together with nothing matching. But if it did, it may feel less relaxed. Love that a few older couples playing cards or scrabble in the lounge or bar. Reminded me of films of the early 20th century where elderly retired to sea side hotels!

Staff very helpful and friendly. Can't fault them. Has a homely feel which is nice for a big place.

There is a new 'annex', a separate building which I believe is modern inside (didn't see myself).

Beds bit hard and pillows like flat bricks, so bring your own!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 17, 2nd floor (no lift), very spacious and a view over the bay which is lovely. Old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleSwissLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

As my husband's health had not been good I had left booking anywhere until the very last minute. The Purbeck House Hotel was everything I hoped it would be; we had a very spacious and comfortable room in Louisa Lodge (I hate pokey hotel rooms!), all the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful and efficient. Breakfast was very good with plenty to choose from. We ate in the hotel on our first night and the food and service was exemplary. On our second night we ate in La Trattoria on the High Street which was wonderful. There is plenty of parking at the hotel and it is situated near to everything but in a quieter part of the town. I would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to family and friends and will definitely come again if we are ever in that part of the country again. A very enjoyable two night stay in the Purbeck House Hotel, and in Swanage and the surrounding area.

Room Tip: From my experience Louisa Lodge rooms are spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 119AmyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
909 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
406 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,444 reviews
6.4 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
7.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge

Property: Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
Address: 91 High Street, Swanage BH19 2LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Purbeck House Hotel, "An Oasis of Relaxation and Enjoyment." Purbeck House Hotel is a family-run hotel steeped in over a century of history. Nestled in extensive gardens in the centre of Swanage, close to shopping centre, Pub, Restaurant, this unique family-run hotel combines the atmosphere of a traditional country house with all the amenities of a modern hotel. Steeped in history, the 38 bedrooms are divided between the main house, constructed in 1875, and the newly-built Louisa Lodge (completed in 2003). All of the bedrooms are en suite, Tea/Coffee making facilities, LED HD Flat Screen TV, Iphone Docking Station, Iron and Iron Board, Direct Dial Telephone, Free Broadband WiFi Connection and some have sea or garden views. The hotel has a large car park and is only 300 yards from the sea front and the clean, sandy beaches.This Family howne this Hotel for the last 15 Years ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Swanage
Purbeck House Hotel And Louisa Lodge
Purbeck Hotel Louisa
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing