We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in Swanage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Swanage
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel in Swanage”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This was our first time here and will not be our last.

We booked here primarily because of the off road parking which is plentiful.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was good.

I would recommend this hotel to anybody wanting to visit Swanage.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhiBarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    188
    73
    24
    26
See reviews for
81
276
35
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We have just had a short break at Purbeck House Hotel and found both the staff and the accommodation were excellent. The first time we have visited this hotel but certainly wont be the last. Excellent food and very clean spacious rooms enhance your holiday experience. Ian H

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyndacarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Y second1stay there. Perfect location for the town, beach and everything else Swanage and the area has to offer. Stayed in the main building and is lovely. Almost Gothic and the view from the room was amazing. Staff reallybfriendly but professional at the same time. Will be returning again .Thank you all at the Purbeck for helping make our weekend perfect.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chilledpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

A wonderful hotel. We have visited this hotel twice and both times have had a lovely time. Very nice staff, clean and bright rooms. Lovely breakfast. Brilliant location. On the first visit we were offered a free upgrade which showed stunning views of the sea and beautiful Swanage. Hope to back very soon.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed for 4 days and really enjoyed the comfortable, spacious and airy superior room. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent and the evening menu looked good.... . Unfortunately we didn't get around to trying it because we had other activities planned. Will definitely stay again next time we plan to stay in Swanage.

Room Tip: Room 16 a superior double was excellent with windows to two sides and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramblingplomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Booked this hotel as a last minute short break in March. What a a great find. ! Booked direct with the hotel and stayed in the newer part of the hotel called Louisa Lodge, in room 40. Fantastic huge room with view of the sea and coastline seen through a lovely floor to celing big square bay window. Hotel gardens were gorgeous and lots of interesting garden statues/ornaments dotted around. Hotel staff were really helpful and made our stay relaxing and comfortable. The breakfast was served in the large conservatory and the menu was great, something for everyone. Cooked breakfast which was lovely and the continental selection was well laid out and was self service. We would really recommend this hotel and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were given a free upgrade to give us the best located room for is to be within baby monitor range of the bar. The room was huge and the service and food we had were excellent. As with many of these stunning old hotels the interior is a bit dated, but I have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
6.4 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
7.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge

Property: Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
Address: 91 High Street, Swanage BH19 2LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Purbeck House Hotel, "An Oasis of Relaxation and Enjoyment." Purbeck House Hotel is a family-run hotel steeped in over a century of history. Nestled in extensive gardens in the centre of Swanage, close to shopping centre, Pub, Restaurant, this unique family-run hotel combines the atmosphere of a traditional country house with all the amenities of a modern hotel. Steeped in history, the 38 bedrooms are divided between the main house, constructed in 1875, and the newly-built Louisa Lodge (completed in 2003). All of the bedrooms are en suite, Tea/Coffee making facilities, LED HD Flat Screen TV, Iphone Docking Station, Iron and Iron Board, Direct Dial Telephone, Free Broadband WiFi Connection and some have sea or garden views. The hotel has a large car park and is only 300 yards from the sea front and the clean, sandy beaches.This Family howne this Hotel for the last 15 Years ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Swanage
Purbeck House Hotel And Louisa Lodge
Purbeck Hotel Louisa
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing