We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice summer break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Swanage
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice summer break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed in Louisa Lodge, the room was spacious and comfortable, staff were pleasant, breakfast tasty and plentiful. Will certainly consider staying again.
The hotel is well situated for the town, beach and steam railway station.

Room Tip: Louisa Lodge is more modern than the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    185
    71
    23
    26
See reviews for
79
274
35
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed here with my daughter for one night and had evening meal in the restaurant which was not that nice and expensive for what it was. Was even served a dessert with half the ingredients missing. Although the waiter apologised I was not offered a refund or even a coffee !! Wouldn't stay again

Room Tip: Stay in louisa lodge ! Don't eat in the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinaturrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Firstly let me say that we didn't actually stay in the accommodation, but we used the services of this hotel. From what we experienced we can recommend the establishment and would consider staying if we returned.

We ate in George Burt's Dining Room on a couple of occasions (I have written a separate review). The reception staff were really helpful with our restaurant bookings and showing us the facilities of the hotel. The service in the quaint bar was excellent, serving us drinks in the lounge area. We had an afternoon drink one day in the lovely gardens and wondered around.

They are very happy to see non-residents using the hotel and spending there.

Toilets were perfectly clean (always a good indicator).

I believe the hotel has a private car park. Street parking around Swanage can be a little tricky.

In summary, a lovely old style hotel, run perfectly well with a quiet pleasant atmosphere - relaxing. We can recommend using it for meals, drinks etc. even if you are bedding down somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidfthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I have stayed here (in Louisa Lodge) for a number of years now when coming to the Swanage Jazz Fesitval. The hotel is in a great location, has lovely grounds and parking is easy. The staff have always been very helpful and friendly but sadly this doesn't make up for the general tiredness of the hotel. But the main bugbear is the beds and pillows, they really are terrible - PLEASE PHH management team, spend some money and invest in new beds!
If it wasn't for the location, I wouldn't choose to stay here again. The price of a twin room during the jazz festival is hugely overpriced for the quality of room and food. A great shame, because the hotel has huge potential to be stunning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelHel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have stayed in Louisa Lodge at the Purbeck House Hotel several times before, so when we planned a long weekend break in Swanage with our Australian friends as part of their European holiday, we had no hesitation in booking 2 rooms in Louisa Lodge. We were in no doubt that they would be as impressed with the hotel as we were, and that proved to be the case. There is ample parking, the location is perfect and several rooms have sea views. The staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful, the rooms are attractive, comfortable and have all the necessary amenities, and the gardens are beautiful. Add to that the history of this lovely old building, and you have a real gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a really quiet location, choose a room in Louisa Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Purbeck last week.

Plus points:
• Beautiful old house with an amazing history
• Within walking distant of the town, shops, cafes, beach and restaurants
• A path on the other side of the road opposite the front entrance that leads straight down to the Swanage Steam Railway
• Picturesque gardens
• Large free car park
• Friendly, helpful staff
• Good views from some rooms

Negative points:
• The car park is up a steep incline that, however fit and healthy you may be you have to walk it at least once a day as breakfast and evening meals are all served at the main part of the hotel.
• Attention to detail is lacking. There are plenty of cobwebs about the place, and lots of dust on surfaces. Cleaning is done sporadically, although you do get clean bathroom towels everyday. The tables in the Conservatory, which is the room you have breakfast in are usually sticky and certainly need another cleaning before eating breakfast. The carpet in our room still had bits on it when we left that had been there since the day we unpacked. The bathroom floor never seemed to be washed the whole time we were there.
• Don’t expect power shower or a large bathroom, the main Hotel wasn’t built with those in mind. Ours was tiny and the shower hardly made a drip
• Food OK but not brilliant. We ate at the Corner Restaurant, which was amazing and La Trattoria, which was also really good, although we did eat in the Hotel restaurant, the food wasn’t anything special.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

A lovely old house in a great central location. Staff were very friendly and service was very good. The gardens are nice and the whole place is bigger than i expected.

I was in room 15 (way at the top!). A smallish single, with a fantastic view of the sea. The only thing I could fault was the bed, it was so uncomfortable I struggled to sleep. My collegues did not have the same issues in their rooms though, so maybe a one off.

All in all a pleasent stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StevieRaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
6.4 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
7.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge

Property: Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
Address: 91 High Street, Swanage BH19 2LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Purbeck House Hotel, "An Oasis of Relaxation and Enjoyment." Purbeck House Hotel is a family-run hotel steeped in over a century of history. Nestled in extensive gardens in the centre of Swanage, close to shopping centre, Pub, Restaurant, this unique family-run hotel combines the atmosphere of a traditional country house with all the amenities of a modern hotel. Steeped in history, the 38 bedrooms are divided between the main house, constructed in 1875, and the newly-built Louisa Lodge (completed in 2003). All of the bedrooms are en suite, Tea/Coffee making facilities, LED HD Flat Screen TV, Iphone Docking Station, Iron and Iron Board, Direct Dial Telephone, Free Broadband WiFi Connection and some have sea or garden views. The hotel has a large car park and is only 300 yards from the sea front and the clean, sandy beaches.This Family howne this Hotel for the last 15 Years ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purbeck House Hotel And Louisa Lodge
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Swanage
Purbeck Hotel Louisa
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing