We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Swanage
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Reviewed 5 May 2013

My wife and I had a midweek break from 30th April. On entering the hotel we felt immediately relaxed. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the views from the conservatory were quite spectacular. We were allocated room 203, on the second floor where we had the same view across the bay. The room was large, very clean, as was everywhere else in the hotel, and had a high ceiling. An absolute bonus was that the lighting was actually bright enough to read by, unlike many other hotels. The garden is beautifully maintained with benches facing out to sea and at the side a path leads to steps that take you down to the beach where small cafes are found. From here it is a short walk down to the town. The bus stops, a short walk away, offering trips to Corfe Castle and Wareham in one direction and to Bournemouth via the ferry in the other. We were lucky enough to have two days of sunshine during our stay and the staff put out sun beds and parasols. It was just like being in Spain! The weather was so good that we didn't get to use the pool or the gym, but we did have a game of table tennis You can get to the room straight from the garden. Breakfast and service were good and we appreciated the white table cloths and the use of tea pots and cups, no mugs. We didn't eat in the hotel in the evening but one night went to the local pub at the end of the road. This is called the Crows Nest, which we would thoroughly recommend. Overall we had two lovely days and really enjoyed our break. Thanks to Lindsay and her team.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gordon06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (943)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Swanage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

648 - 654 of 943 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2013

We have stayed before and generally the hotel is OK. This time we had a room on the third (top) floor. It was up in the roof with a great sea view ( at no extra cost). The room looked OK on first impression but we soon found thinks wrong.
The curtains were light and very thin. As soon as the sun came up it was totally light in the room. OK if you want to read in bed at 6 am but not if you like to sleep.
The bed was a standard double and soft enough but the duvet was really horid. It was warm enough (10.5 tog) but made if some stiff cardboardy stuff that was not very comfortable.
The bathroom was quite small. The loo would not flush efficiently; it was necessary to try about 4 times to clear a few sheets of loo paper. The wash basin only had a tiny glass shelf so there was no where to put your wash bag and stuff so you have to put it on the floor. I hate that. The shower only made a pathetic dribble, I guess this is lack of water pressure on the top floor.
When you have washed your hair the hair drier is on a very short flex so that if you dry standing up you will be holdind the drier, the flex plus the holder the drier sits in.
There was somebody on reception when we checked in and that was done well. Every other time we came in and went to reception for our key there was nobody there. We had to go looking for the erception persion who was to be found serving in the bar. So you have to wait while they finish that and then they can come and get your key. I can understand the economy of having the receptionist do two jobs but just don't expect me to like it.

Room Tip: Top floor appears to have bad water pressure.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We've just returned from a 2 night Groupon offer.The view of Swanage bay is stunning from the Conservatory.
We stayed on B&B basis and the breakfast was good and plentiful.Shame about the windows in the Dining room,which had condensation between the panes and therefore spoilt the view.
We decided to try a meal in the Conservatory on the first night even though the menu was abit pricey.We were very disappointed when it arrived.The portions were very small.I had the sea bass.It was the tiniest fillet served with just potato,no veg or salad!My husband had the Rib-eye steak,asked for it to be cooked medium but was well-done and very little to accompany it.We complained to the waiter about the portion sizes and as we didn't hear any more about in complained to reception the following day who gave us a full refund.
Never-the-less we chose to eat out on the second night!
Our room 205 was fine although the pidgeons were a nuisance and noisy at times.
We would go back again on a B&B basis as such a beautiful view and enjoyed the Spa facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank 506stephnicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Fantastic location, good food and excellent staff. Room (number 300) was OK, but a little hot as was in the roof space, at the hight of summer this would be a bigger issue. The room was behind "the Grand Hotel" lettering and birds nested at night on the supports, so you could not leave the window open for ventilation without the fear of a bird in your room, or the noise that they make.

Even in taking into account the comments made, the location is just fab and I would love to stay there again! I would also be keen to treat my family over a weekend, although the price is an issue. At £55 B&B it is good value, but at say £240 per night for a family of four it is out of our reach (£1680 for a week). We have just stayed in a four star hotel Half board in Portugal for £283 for 5 nights for 3 people!!!! This is the problem that all UK hotels face.

Room Tip: Don't have a room in the roof - see my full review above. A sea view is a must.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

This is a century old hotel which is located in a fantastic position overlooking the bay of Swanage There is a large garden with benches and direct access to the beach via a long flight of steps. Our room 301 was quite near the lift so we had noise from that. In addition the small bathroom had a sloping ceiling so that you really had to mind your head when getting off the toilet!! If you are tall you really do not want to be allocated this room. The shower cubicle was very small and the tray very badly needed replacing, though the shower head was very good. Bedroom very small tho bed comfortable and whole room very clean. Breakfast was good - in a lovely dining room overlooking the sea, with hot food cooked to order. The loud female supervisor was rather sergeant major-ish but other staff we found very friendly and helpful.On our last day I ordered tea for one to drink in the lovely conservatory & it was £2- on a tray with nice cup & saucer - I drank 3 cups which I think must make it a real bargain ! We didn't try the restaurant as it was a bit nouveaux cuisine for us but plenty of places in the town. We had a fantastic 2 days as the weather was beautiful and we stayed all day on the beach - my husband even swam in the sea !. The gym was quite small and the pool ridiculously so - with a third of it being taken up by steps far too big for it but I had a little swim - if there were more than 2 people you couldn't! Parking on the hotel is extremely limited and we found we always had to park up the road, but apart from these few things we did have a lovely time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

A very relaxing break, the Staff friendly and welcoming, room was very clean and well appointed, magnificent sea view, food to a high standard, the location is excellent. Highly recommended for couples enjoying a a celebration or just a break away from everyday life.

Room Tip: The south side is good.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

We read the previous reviews about afternoon tea here after having spied the hotel across the bay in Swanage. Needless to say they were so damning we were compelled to try it out to see just how bad it could be.....we found the staff to be more than helpful especially as officially we were too late for tea and the service and the scones were generous. It is undeniably a dated hotel but charming at the same time, unpretentious and efficient. And the views really are as impressive as everyone claims.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Semybazee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.8 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.1 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
428 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland Bay
235 reviews
4.4 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,503 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Swanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Swanage

Address: Burlington Road, Swanage BH19 1LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Price Range: £104 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Swanage 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Swanage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Swanage Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing