We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Swanage
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Very good traditional place to stay, right on the beach. Good food and really friendly staff, nothing too much trouble. Easy to walk into town. Fantastic views over Swanage Bay. Good base for walking the Downs

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GenuineWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (993)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

680 - 686 of 993 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

The situation is excellent with glorious views from the back.The front is very urban and the car park is too small for the numbr of rooms.The hotel is in need of complete modernisation.The lift is a joke,slow, bumpy and only takes three people.The bathroom was a weird shape and having a bath was strange.The room was only big enough for two single beds and one chair.Other furniture was a mixture from the 1970s The interior springs of one of the beds could be felt in the bed. Breakfast was average for a three star hotel but dinner was a disaster,the same sauce was served with three different mains on three different nights,frozen chips were served and sweets were generally uninteresting.Most guests ate out,some at another hotel just up the road.Menu cards are placed on all the tables in the garden but there is no service and guests have to go up to the bar by lift or stairs to order food and drinks.Far too few staff are employed and whilst some are very good others are poor.At the prices charged I expected much more.

Room Tip: If you must go stay B and B in a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BARRAT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We enjoyed our two night stay at this hotel, the manageress and staff are very friendly. The garden is beautiful and so relaxing with sun loungers, if you don't want to go to the beach. The facilities include a small pool and gym which we did not use but it was nice to have them there. If you wish to book a treatment I would do that in advance as the therapist was not working on the day that I would have liked a treatment. Our room was very clean and big enough, the bathroom was very small but functional. The balcony was a nice feature and the view was stunning. There was a good choice of food both in the restaurant and bar.

Room Tip: We stayed in 111 which overlooks the bay and the garden, it was a very quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My husband and I spent a night here in July 2013. I found the staff very pleasant and helpful, nothing was too much trouble, the room was quite basic but added to the charm of the Hotel it almost felt as if I had stepped back in time. The room was on the 3rd floor in the attic space which gave us beautiful views over swanage seafront the evening view was particulary breath taking. Although at night we had many pigeons sitting outside the window on the Hotel name sign, the noise of the pigeons didnt really disturb me but may be annoying for others. Being in the attic also made the room very hot, I believe it would be better if the Hotel supplied a fan in the summer months. The grounds were well maintained and we enjoyed a drink from the hotel bar in the garden there is quite a steep set of metal steps coming down from the hotel to the garden but the bar staff did offer to bring the drinks down to us. When we went to the restaurant to eat we were told we would have to book a table this information was not given to us on our arrival, so wanting to eat at 7pm and not being able to have a table until 8pm did present a problem so we walked a small distance down the road to the local public house, we did eat breakfast in the hotel and didnt have to book a table for this and it was a pleasant breakfast with a good choice of cereal, fruit juice, yoghurt, fresh fruit, croissants and fried breakfast with toast, tea and coffee. I would stay here again as it was quirky and relaxing, I felt like I got good value for money.

Room Tip: Dont have a attic room if you feel the heat and get disturbed by noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We just returned from the Grand Hotel. We liked it so much we extended our stay and thus stayed in two different rooms: the first was lovely, and the second was fine. The hotel has a great location and excellent facilities (beachfront, exercise room, many common spaces, peaceful rooms). The staff are fine overall although the breakfast hostess really stands out as someone who helped us start our day with a smile, as we overheard her patiently and in a friendly way dealing with the complexity of guests' sometimes rather complicated breakfast orders.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stayed for 6 nights Bedroom still in need of some refurbishment but it is kept very clean ,bed very comfortable .En suite still in the sixties style although clean.Great views looking over the gardens &bay .Excellent leisure facilities.Breakfast great and a good choice on offer ,staff very helpful.Evening menu meals could have had some tradinal meals all a bit to fancy for us.Decor for the Grand is very dated but clean. Just like to say Naomi on the reception desk was the most friendly and helpful and had great knowledge of the area.

Room Tip: for sea views 207 -206 -205
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whiskeytiff876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Just returned from a very successful cricket tour of the Swanage area with 15 other cricketers. We had nothing but praise for the hotel, very comfortable with a range of leisure facilities. We were particularly impressed with the extremely attentive staff who couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was always a delight, with plenty on the menu. Thanks for a grand stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEjustME_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.8 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.1 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
457 reviews
2.1 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland Bay
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
991 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,832 reviews
4.4 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#9 of 13 in Poole
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Swanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Swanage

Address: Burlington Road, Swanage BH19 1LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Price Range: £95 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Swanage 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel, Swanage is a classic Victorian seaside hotel that nestles in the heart of the beautiful Isle of Purbeck and dates back to 1898. It commands spectacular views across Swanage Bay and Peveril Point and many of the bedrooms and public areas take advantage of these delightful views. On summer days the garden is the perfect place to soak up the sun, whilst enjoying a refreshing glass of wine or dining Al Fresco. Stroll along our private sandy beach,which can be accessed directly from the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Swanage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Swanage Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing