We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better second time around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Swanage
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Following a previous review The Grand invited myself and my family back for a return visit.

At the end of the day The Grand will always be a little rough arohnd the edges until some
serious money is spent on it and the bathroom and plumbing is updated.

However everything that we found completely unacceptable before appears to have been put right - the rules in restaurant have gone and are now family friendly and the staff were pleasant and helpfull.

If you can get a room with a seaview it is so worth it as the view at all times of the day is special.

Well overall although we are not planning to return to Swanage in the short term, if we did we would return to The Grand.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank SamandPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (953)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

586 - 592 of 953 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

We booked at last minute for my wife and I's wedding anniversary, and what an absolute gem. A real old fashioned hotel, Great breakfast cooked to order,none off that old dried up stuff on a buffet and very attentive staff. i reported the radiator in our room needed bleeding as it wasn't giving out much heat,and it was fixed when we returned. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and was very pleased with our meal,bar prices are very good for a hotel bar. so if you are looking for a nice old fashion sea-side hotel look no further than the Grand Hotel Swanage.

Room Tip: Pay for the sea view its well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allancbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

For my full impressions of this delightful hotel please read my previous review, I am pleased to advise that the same standards are still as immaculate in all respects.

My Wife and I have just returned from a supurb lunch, the friendly and efficient service, the food, the comfort, and the general ambience were all absolutely perfect, and of course the wonderful vista of Swanage Bay.

Before closing I must mention and thank the Chef for "something special". For her desert my Wife chose 'sticky toffee pudding with butterscotch sauce' only to be advised that unfortunately the butterscotch sauce was out of stock and she elected to have the pudding served with ice cream instead..........imagine her delight and suprise when it was served: the pudding, the ice cream, in a pool of butterscotch sauce! and the waiter's comment "Chef has made it especially for you" He or She deserves a medal 'cause it made her day!..........THANK YOU.

Exceptional! The Grand Hotel is just that! EXCEPTIONAL!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InnesDorchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Booked a last minute break with a groupon voucher. We found the staff very welcoming and helpful. Glad we took the advice from other reviewers to upgrade to a sea view. The stormy seas were amazing. Fantastic breakfast except for poor quality sausages. Opted for the smoked haddock on second morning which was excellent. Can't wait to come back.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Seedsower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

we had a great stay at the grand.our room had a fantastic view of swanage and the bay.
breakfast was served to us with a good selection of hot and cold dishes.
the staff were first class and very helpful to us.
we ate in the restaurant on both nights as swanage seemed to close early? the meals were
well cooked and nicely presented.
the spa was all we expected and fine
we can recommend the grand as a comfortable and relaxing stay and would return with no
problem when we are in swanage again.

Room Tip: pay extra for that sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My girlfriend and I decided to have a short break to shake off the January blues! We are both young full time workers from just down the road in Bournemouth but just wanted to step off the rollercoaster of the city. We found The Grand Hotel at a great price for just one night with breakfast so we booked it. Travelled here on a Tusday,stayed the night and spent the Wednesday exploring Durlston country park and castle which is just a mile or two up the road with amazing views and walks if thats what you fancy. The Grand Hotel has lots of character, a little tired looking but its nice to visit these kind of hotels and nice there are still some around, beats your everyday lifeless travel lodge hands down! Everything was clean and tidy, food was satisfying, the staff were very pleasant and always smiling,and a very nice welcome on arrival and departure from the front desk. We had access to the leisure club downstairs too so managed to have a swim in the fairly small pool and soak in the bubbling jakuzi. It was just all so nice and peaceful but that is the time of year as there was not too many people about. Would like to come again!
Mr T and Miss D.

Room Tip: Sea View! Higher rooms tend to have the pigeons singing on your windowsill in the mornning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glennytee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The hotel is a little dated but this just adds to the charm. It is in a great location with stunning views of the sea, beach and town. It is around a 15 min walk to the town centre either along the beach or road, if you take the beach option you will need to ascend or descend a long flight of steps. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the breakfast service was vas very good, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yellowvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.8 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.1 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
435 reviews
2.1 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland Bay
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
963 reviews
4.4 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,521 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Swanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Swanage

Address: Burlington Road, Swanage BH19 1LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Price Range: £107 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Swanage 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Grand Hotel Swanage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Swanage Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing