We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring In Swanage at the Grand Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Swanage
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Reviewed 23 March 2014

What a lovely grand old lady the Grand is. We've literally just arrived home after two days there.
We were celebrating our 35th Wedding Anniversary so we wanted it to be a bit special. It certainly lived up to our expectations. She is of an older time & wonderfully nostalgic of that Victorian age with sweeping stairs, spacious lounge, glorious sun terrace & crisp white linen tables in the restaurant. Our room was clean & an adequate size for the two of us. Even though the shower had seen better days, the water pressure & temperature was perfect. All of the meals we had there were of a high standard, that includes our evening meal & our breakfasts. The Hotel commands amazing views across the bay & has steps (I think I counted 60) leading down to the beach. Not for the faint hearted or the elderly coming back up!!! Overall we loved the old time grandeur that cannot be captured in the more modern hotels & the politeness & attentiveness of the staff were exemplary. We will return for another visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (994)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

602 - 608 of 994 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

The hotel was very warm in temperature.. Maybe for the older clientele or maybe as the weather outside was unseasonably warm. We did a Groupon offer for 2 nights with breakfast. Breakfast wasn't the best we'd ever had, the kippers were the worse I'd ever eaten and my son on both mornings, was disappointed in his full English. But the staff were friendly, the gym downstairs was great! The views from the Dining Room were stunning but because of the bad storms in Jan/Feb, the sea view side had damage so scaffolding was up, which obscured my 'sea view' which I'd paid extra for. This was reimbursed upon departure when I complained. The evening meal in the restaurant was nice and I'd like to go back when in it's full glory. Swanage is lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Hotel/rooms better than expected - shower needs a bit of TLC. Hotel could mention steps leading down to sea front which were very useful.
Food in bar was excellent. Good choice and good value. Breakfast cooked to order. Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r l g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This hotel felt warm and friendly , a very English ,sea side feel , it needed a little updating , but not too much or it would loose its charm . Our room was fine though the bathroom was small , the meals we had were first rate and the staff were charming and helpful. Views from the hotel were lovely and the lounge was large and comfortable. We will visit again !
PS the lift went bump every time it stopped !

Room Tip: Sea View would be nice .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

As above, the restaurant was very good, service & food also. Everything a bit jaded but overall a pleasant stay we would come again. The hotels location is very good, we had a sea view well worth the extra money.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joneve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is pretty much what I expect from a british seaside hotel.

Clearly it's not quite the hotel it would have been 20-30 years ago but it's clean, warm and has plenty of character (and characters). the breakfast was good although a bit hit and miss as to what would be on the plate and the bar area was warm and welcoming.

The rooms varied in size and decor (there were 3 couples in our party) they were all clean and had great sea views.

We walked up the road to the Pines and that had the feeling of an Rest Home so of the two I was delighted we chose the Grand.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shawks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Spent one night here on a LivingSocial deal, we were fortunate in having a sea facing room on the 3rd floor. Although the room was on the small side it was comfortable and clean with an amazing view of the bay. We enjoyed a drink in the bar but this was spoilt by a group of men holding a religious meeting in the corner and they seemed intent on speaking very loudly and their views were not very pleasant and quite unpleasant to listen to. They were very judgemental about other religions which I found offensive and do not think a public venue is the right place to hold this sort of gathering. The drink prices were not bad for a hotel and the staff were all very friendly. We did use the swimming pool which was in the basement but is on the same level as the garden so you do still get views of the sea. The running machines all face the sea and would be a great place to excercise as you can gaze out at the view. We did have dinner here but not in the Restaurant as the menu was quite limited and nothing on in we fancied. We had the bar meal but the tables in the bar are too low to eat off so when I asked they allowed us to eat in the Restaurant. As the hotel is not very busy I don't know why they don't let you order from either menu in the restaurant as it all comes from the same kitchen and is served by the same people. The walk down to the beach is a bit steep and we were a bit puffed out on the way back up. The hotel is in a lovely old building with a great feature staircase but the lift, although tiny, is available for those not walking to walk. Our breakfast was very nice with plenty of choice, I liked that we could order what we wanted rather than just help ourselves, but there is a small buffet area which has the fruit, bread, jams, cereals etc. It would be nice if they could also include the tea and coffee on this table as the cups are quite small and they don't come round offering refills and you have to ask. Unfortunately the conservatory was out of use due to the storm damage and we are planning on going back in the summer for afternoon tea so we can experience it as it looks such a nice place. If you are looking for a hotel in Swanage this is very good but it about 15 minutes walk to get into town. There is a very small car park here but not enough spaces so we parked on the road. Not a problem at this time of year but in summer it might be difficult to get a space nearby.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms near the lift as it is very noisy - if you can afford it pay for the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FluffyFiFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.8 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.1 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
457 reviews
2.1 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland Bay
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
992 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,834 reviews
4.4 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#9 of 13 in Poole
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Swanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Swanage

Address: Burlington Road, Swanage BH19 1LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Price Range: £96 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Swanage 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel, Swanage is a classic Victorian seaside hotel that nestles in the heart of the beautiful Isle of Purbeck and dates back to 1898. It commands spectacular views across Swanage Bay and Peveril Point and many of the bedrooms and public areas take advantage of these delightful views. On summer days the garden is the perfect place to soak up the sun, whilst enjoying a refreshing glass of wine or dining Al Fresco. Stroll along our private sandy beach,which can be accessed directly from the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Grand Hotel Swanage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Swanage Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing