We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Swanage
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had a brilliant weekend in The Grand Hotel -a little tired around the edges but extremely clean and lovely, helpful staff as well as delicious freshly cooked food - will definitely be going back in the future!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay B, Manager at Grand Hotel Swanage, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Great to hear that you had a lovely weekend at the Grand Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (953)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 953 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Staff friendly and helpful. Room was very clean, comfortable bed and a superb view from our room looking out over Swanage Bay. Breakfast very tasty and lovely view from restaurant. Parking is very limited but there is free on street parking just outside hotel on a quite road. Second time we've stayed here and will certainly come back on one of their special deals.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay B, Manager at Grand Hotel Swanage, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay again with us and look forward to welcoming you back, Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed on a late booking last week. The hotel is a bit tired but there is a lot of refurbishment work going on. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. The bar food was pretty standard pub food but breakfast was good and my haddock was excellent. The view from our room was stunning, worth paying the extra for.

Room Tip: First floor sea view was worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miranda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay B, Manager at Grand Hotel Swanage, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us recently and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I do not do reviews but as you have asked.
arrived Saturday looking forward to a relaxing stay.
A group of 20 odd were staying and everything revolved around them. Although we had booked a table we were only shown a set menu for dinner (pre ordered by the others) which was unappealing so we had to eat out, not what we expected after working all day and then driving a couple of hours to get there.
Breakfast again set out for the others as a buffet as the kitchen could not cope with individual orders, same the second day.
No hot water for shower
Dinner the second day a bit confused, I thought I had been offered the set menu again that the others were having ( roast beef) only to be told at 7 o clock that I would have to wait until 8.15.
Selected from the bar menu worst chips I have had and then the group of 20 odd met for pre dinner drinks where we were dining the chatter was deafening . Told we would have complimentary dinner but they still tried to charge.
No hot water next day
Ate out third day
Double glazing in bedroom misted up, must have been like it for ages
freshly cooked breakfast on last day
Thought very expensive (£130 a night BB) for what was on offer

Room Tip: our 3rd floor room was in the rooof
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed overnight for a birthday trip and were a bit disappointed. The position of the hotel and the views are superb and we had a sea view from our room. The hotel itself needs updating though, both the bedrooms and the common areas. The shower was poor, to get it warm enough meant you lost the flow. When we went for a drink, they had a seminar set up for a group which took over most of the bar. The only area left to sit was by the conservatory and it was cold! We couldn't sit in the conservatory as it was too cold and the radiators weren't on. We were glad we hadn't booked to eat there. So, all in all, a disappointment for the money as it isn't cheap and just a shame, as it could be lovely.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The toilet and shower rooms in our third floor room were tiny. Water pressure in the shower was very weak and the hot water took ages to come through. There was only room for one bedside table in our double room because of the sloping roof. There was scaffolding up around the back of the hotel which ruined our view and we had to keep the curtains closed as there were workmen right outside our room. We could not use the conservatory during the day because of the building work. The bed was very comfortable, the room was clean and breakfast was very good. The staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was our third stay at this hotel and we come here to relax and take advantage of the lovely views and walks in the area. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was average so on the second evening we ate in the nearby pub and had a much better meal! The views from the hotel are lovely and the staff very welcoming but the hotel itself is looking very tired now and in need of refurbishing.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea facing room for the magnificent views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubblesSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.8 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.1 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
435 reviews
2.1 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland Bay
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
963 reviews
4.4 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,521 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Swanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Swanage

Address: Burlington Road, Swanage BH19 1LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Price Range: £107 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Swanage 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Grand Hotel Swanage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Swanage Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing