We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“COULD BE GRANDER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Swanage
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Swanage
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“COULD BE GRANDER”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed on a sunny bank holiday, hotel right on the quiet beech with steps as access, and beautiful views, decor in need of updating, parking an issue (road outside was busy, took some time to find parking) Breakfast was very good and staff were helpful. The structure of the building and the huge staircase are testament to better days gone bye. We paid £70 for a double for b&b, which considering all of the above was fair.

Room Tip: If you are into views, get a room on the beach side of the hotel, stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay B, Manager at Grand Hotel Swanage, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back again with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    339
    143
    89
    46
See reviews for
157
531
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had a brilliant weekend in The Grand Hotel -a little tired around the edges but extremely clean and lovely, helpful staff as well as delicious freshly cooked food - will definitely be going back in the future!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay B, Manager at Grand Hotel Swanage, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Great to hear that you had a lovely weekend at the Grand Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Staff friendly and helpful. Room was very clean, comfortable bed and a superb view from our room looking out over Swanage Bay. Breakfast very tasty and lovely view from restaurant. Parking is very limited but there is free on street parking just outside hotel on a quite road. Second time we've stayed here and will certainly come back on one of their special deals.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay B, Manager at Grand Hotel Swanage, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay again with us and look forward to welcoming you back, Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed on a late booking last week. The hotel is a bit tired but there is a lot of refurbishment work going on. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. The bar food was pretty standard pub food but breakfast was good and my haddock was excellent. The view from our room was stunning, worth paying the extra for.

Room Tip: First floor sea view was worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miranda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay B, Manager at Grand Hotel Swanage, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us recently and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I do not do reviews but as you have asked.
arrived Saturday looking forward to a relaxing stay.
A group of 20 odd were staying and everything revolved around them. Although we had booked a table we were only shown a set menu for dinner (pre ordered by the others) which was unappealing so we had to eat out, not what we expected after working all day and then driving a couple of hours to get there.
Breakfast again set out for the others as a buffet as the kitchen could not cope with individual orders, same the second day.
No hot water for shower
Dinner the second day a bit confused, I thought I had been offered the set menu again that the others were having ( roast beef) only to be told at 7 o clock that I would have to wait until 8.15.
Selected from the bar menu worst chips I have had and then the group of 20 odd met for pre dinner drinks where we were dining the chatter was deafening . Told we would have complimentary dinner but they still tried to charge.
No hot water next day
Ate out third day
Double glazing in bedroom misted up, must have been like it for ages
freshly cooked breakfast on last day
Thought very expensive (£130 a night BB) for what was on offer

Room Tip: our 3rd floor room was in the rooof
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed overnight for a birthday trip and were a bit disappointed. The position of the hotel and the views are superb and we had a sea view from our room. The hotel itself needs updating though, both the bedrooms and the common areas. The shower was poor, to get it warm enough meant you lost the flow. When we went for a drink, they had a seminar set up for a group which took over most of the bar. The only area left to sit was by the conservatory and it was cold! We couldn't sit in the conservatory as it was too cold and the radiators weren't on. We were glad we hadn't booked to eat there. So, all in all, a disappointment for the money as it isn't cheap and just a shame, as it could be lovely.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The toilet and shower rooms in our third floor room were tiny. Water pressure in the shower was very weak and the hot water took ages to come through. There was only room for one bedside table in our double room because of the sloping roof. There was scaffolding up around the back of the hotel which ruined our view and we had to keep the curtains closed as there were workmen right outside our room. We could not use the conservatory during the day because of the building work. The bed was very comfortable, the room was clean and breakfast was very good. The staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.8 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.1 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
5.6 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
5.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#9 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Swanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Swanage

Property: Grand Hotel Swanage
Address: Burlington Road, Swanage BH19 1LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Swanage 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Swanage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Swanage Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing