We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Swanage
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Swanage
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

On arrival we were made to feel very welcome by the bubbly receptionist. This is a very warm & cosy hotel with typical Victorian grandeur, hence the name. The downstairs has a lovely feel to it with a comfortable seated bar area and a conservatory with a beautiful view across the bay. The staff are very attentive and helpful. The bar & restaurant menus were good and the food looked great. Breakfasts were served in a very light and sunny room overlooking the sea, a great way to start the day. Our room was on the 3rd floor with a view to die for. It was a very comfortable room, classed as a suite, with 2 comfy chairs to observe the sea view from. The only downfall was the shower which required the power to give it it's name!! However this did not detract from the enjoyment of our stay. If you want peace and quiet and a cosy environment then this is the perfect place to stay. There are few parking spaces on site but you are able to park on the quiet streets alongside the hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DWToggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    346
    145
    90
    47
See reviews for
163
537
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We booked for a birthday party and we were late but the chefs stayed, the service was very friendly and courteous and the food very good....all in all a lovely afternoon in lovely surroundings. Thanks you to all your staff for a memorable event!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Lovely hotel although a little dated. Lots of older people staying there. Much nicer to eat in the bar/conservatory than restaurant. Great location although lots of steps down to beach if mobility is an issue. Great breakfast choice.

Room Tip: Great view of sea but extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warrenhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Ideal location for special celebrations. Very attractive lounge and dining room with spectacular views overlooking well-kept gardens and the beautiful bay. The Manager was extremely helpful in planning the event and she, together with her staff, provided a first-rate service. The menu for the reception worked out very well and was much appreciated by guests. The location has the added advantage of easy access to the beach and friendly beach cafe. Our thanks for such an enjoyable and memorable day!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

First impressions were that the hotel had seen better days and certainly our room 107, although very clean and tidy, could have done with a bit of updating and refurbishment. The furniture was old and marked and the chairs very worn. The bathroom was also very dated and the shower took an age to get the temperature right. However, these little things pale into insignificance as soon as you take in the stunning view. Okay, so we paid extra to have the sea view but it was well worth it. The staff were very pleasant and friendly. We ate at the hotel both nights of our short stay and had very nice meals. The menu was a little limited, as we chose to eat in the beautiful conservatory which over the very lovely well maintained gardens and down on to the sea, but the food was obviously home made and delicious. One down side on the second night was having to wait over an hour for our meal to arrive. The poor waitress was also serving in the bar and it was a near impossibility for her to wait on tables in the conservatory and get drinks for thirsty punters! Another member of staff would have made all the difference. We would definitely go back to this hotel as if offered good value for money and our main mistake was not booking for long enough this time!

Room Tip: In our opinion it was well worth the little extra to have the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed recently in the Grand Hotel it was indeed grand with excellent views of the bay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to stay in Swanage it's only a short walk to the beach great shops and restraunts and plenty of things to do

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Maybe it was grand about 100 years ago. The views of the sea was spectacular, we found the staff unhelpful, when asked where we could park, we were told on the full car park, or in the street which had double yellow lines everywhere. We requested no duvets on the beds before booking the room, only a sheet and blanket, we were told this was not a problem, on arrival I had to request the change to the beds(twin beds)4 times, then I was given a bag of bedding to do it myself . On arrival the room was stuffy, so we opened the windows, then a pigeon flew in . After a shower I opened the bathroom window, another pigeon flew in. The staff said there were no problems with pigeons at the back of the hotel, only at the front. We tried to show her that the pigeons were building a nest above our bedroom window, and below on the balcony, but she would not look. The blankets were old and well worn, not fit for the charity shop. The bedroom carpet was dirty and stained, the two chairs were so old when you sat on them you nearly touched the floor, the curtains were thin and stained like bits of rag. On day two when no room service had been in by tea time, I asked reception for some milk,only to be asked, "are you staying here". When you pulled out the drawers they were very dusty, behind the beds were too, I could have ignored this if the rest of the room was acceptable . We only ate breakfast there, that was okay. There were construction workers staying there, who thought it was ok, but they weren't on holiday. It was three nights too long. Would I stay there again - never.

Room Tip: rooms at the back of the hotel over looking the sea, have a very nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauren580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.8 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.1 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
408 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,449 reviews
5.6 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
5.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Swanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Swanage

Property: Grand Hotel Swanage
Address: Burlington Road, Swanage BH19 1LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Swanage 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Swanage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Swanage Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing