We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,059)
Filter reviews
1,059 results
Traveller rating
331
396
180
102
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
396
180
102
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewthe general managerthird floorbar menuprivate beachlovely old hotelseen better dayslimited parkingnight breakshort breakfabulous viewssome tlcroom was clean and comfortablesunday lunchcar parkingthe cliffrelaxing break
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 1,059 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2018

Firstly let me say this The Grand has some wonderful staff, the kitchen and bar staff were exceptionally accommodating for my partners Vegan diet offering a number of dishes for her to choose from for the evening meals. Secondly the views... wow.
However, unfortunately The Grand doesn't live up to its name when it comes to the rooms, tired and tatty spring to mind. Creaking floorboards, stained carpet, stained bedding, dirty drawers and overall TLC needed. I really don't understand why business's like this promote local brands such as 'Dorset tea' at the bar and breakfast but give you Yorkshire tea and Nescafé coffee in the room & promote local artists & photographers throughout the building yet put uninspiring artwork in the bedrooms.
A great location, great team and stunning views just needs some TLC to make 'The Grand' grand again....

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jamieclayton1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay B, General Manager at Grand Hotel Swanage, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and I will pass on your great comments to the team... We are pleased to advise you that we have commissioned another local photographer who's wonderful prints are being displayed in the bedrooms, starting with the first floor. We do source our produce locally whenever we can and due to issues beyond our control hope to be able to offer again our Dorset teas within the rooms. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

a lovely New Years Eve. The dinner was very good, excellent value and we enjoyed the entertainment and the dancing afterwards. Staff were great throughout, friendly and helpful. Very good breakfast, food all of high quality.
The grand is a lovely old hotel, amazing views over Swanage bay and lovely gardens.

The room (301) was clean with good towels and bed linen. Not much of a view but that didn't matter for one night.
However,the shower took an age to produce hot water and then it just dribbled out, just managed to wash my hair ready for the evening. Bulbs were gone over the dressing table area so could hardly see to put make up on.
I could have put up with these minor things without complaint but what did upset me was I probably had the worst nights sleep ever at a hotel on the most uncomfortable mattress I've encountered in a very long time. Such a pity, you really need to upgrade these. Good job it was only one night
Although I emailed hotel didn't even get the courtesy of a response! Not good customer relations

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank allnamesunderthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay B, General Manager at Grand Hotel Swanage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Thank you for your review your comments are important to us and I am concerned that you did not receive a response to your initial e-mail. I am glad to hear however that you enjoyed the New Year celebrations which I will pass onto the team..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

We have just returned from our New year break at the Grand Hotel in Swanage and will give it full marks! Excellent, helpful staff, great position overlooking the bay with wonderful views and just a short walk along the beach to Swanage town,.Bedroom clean and comfortable and even a small balcony over looking the bay, fell asleep to the sound of the waves.
The food was exceptionally good, benefitting from two new chefs who take pride in what they do and it shows! The gala dinner in particular was first class and exceptional value for money, a great evening, Thank you to all concerned we will be back..

Room Tip: Sea view but all rooms looked good..
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay B, General Manager at Grand Hotel Swanage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Thank you for your excellent review. It was a great evening and I have passed on your comments to the team which is very much appreciated. We look forward to your return visit to us..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for a quick pre Xmas get away for my husband's birthday. Lovely room over looking the sea on the first floor. The benefit of this hotel is there is no road between you and the beach. You walk through the back garden and down the steps and you are there. Lovely clean warm room (maybe a little too warm) but fab to go to sleep listening to the sea. Great breakfast too. Would definitely stay again. Many thanks.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank KathyN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay B, General Manager at Grand Hotel Swanage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Excellent review- thank you and very much appreciated by all of the team. We hope to see you back again with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

The Grand Hotel is a lovely old building with amazing views of the bay at Swanage. Rooms are comfortable, dining room and bar look out to sea, the staff are always welcoming. The food in the bar or the restaurant is smashing - in fact the breakfasts are SUPERB.

We love to stay there for a couple of days in the winter, we enjoy the cosy lounge fire, the excellent food, the little pool and sauna - it is our Christmas present to ourselves!

Room Tip: Top floor either sea view or downs view
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilde m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay B, General Manager at Grand Hotel Swanage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Fantastic review- Thank you and Happy New Year to you both. Please look at our website for the special offers throughout the year.. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews