We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious House close to the beach”
The Quarterdeck, self catering Swanage, Dorset
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Quarterdeck, self catering Swanage, Dorset
Kitchen showing windows with views over Swanage Sunny balcony with bay views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The Quarterdeck, self catering Swanage, Dorset
Kitchen showing windows with views over Swanage
Sunny balcony with bay views
Dining table seats 8 (or 10 with extension)
Dining Area open to kitchen and breakfast bar
Comfortable living space for 10
Views from the living room
Modern designs soothing colours
Cosy double bedroom
Large master bedroom
Sofa in games TV room
Games Room converted to 4th bedroom
Computer and wifi internet access
Pool table in games room
Are we coming next year as well?
Welcome pack of food and drink on arrival
Outdoor dining for 10 on the patio
Weber outdoor gas grill
Swanage Beach, sandy seaside, child friendly
Dancing Ledge on Jurassic Coast
Bay views from the balcony
Durlston country park walks nearby
Swyre Head one the best viewpoints in the area, overlooks to Olympic sailing site
Durdle door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
clivejbak...
Redditch, England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Spacious House close to the beach”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed at the Quarterdeck in May this year. Six adults and one toddler. We had a wonderful time.
The house is spacious, and very clean with a very well-equipped kitchen. Location couldn’t be better. The house is on a very quiet road only a few minutes’ walk to the beach, shops, restaurants and pubs. The views from the lounge balcony are wonderful. The garden is large and safe enough for children to play. Having three bathrooms was a great advantage and this was one of the reasons we booked this property along with its proximity to the beach and town and of course the train station. The games room was great and we spent many a happy evening there. Very nice welcome pack too, thank you. We would fully recommend this property, there is nothing not to like. If we return to Swanage we would book the Quarterdeck again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2017
Thank you for such a beautifully written review that sums up your experience at the Quarterdeck. Great to hear you enjoyed it
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheshireR...
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great holiday house for family beach holiday”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lovely, spacious light rooms, ideal location as it is 10 minutes walk to the quieter end of Swanage beach (but with a convenient ice-cream kiosk) and about the same to the steam railway station and shops. We were three generations and had a wonderful holiday without needing the car. The instructions received by phone when we couldn't assemble the travel cot were very helpful!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
Delighted to hear you had a wonderful holiday. Thank you for your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stdxn02
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Perfect for a family holiday”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The Quarterdeck has everything you need to make for a relaxing holiday. We were lucky enough to have beautiful weather so that we could use the bbq and garden furniture whilst the kids played in the child-friendly garden. It is located in a nice area with an easy stroll down to the beach. Comfortable beds and spotlessly clean - home from home!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2017
Great to hear you had a great holiday and thank you for sharing your experiences. Let us know if you want to come back sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tcHasleme...
Haslemere
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spacious, comfortable, family-friendly home”
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Fairly and accurately described by the owners. A very sociable home, comfortable and well-equipped. Comprehensive facilities. Great location for access to town and beach and for good distant views. Excellent balcony large enough to seat the whole family - grandparents, children and grandchildren. A stand-out bonus was the very well compiled set of "how things work" notes. The refreshing absence of "don't" notices was also very welcome. We had a great time and came away from The Quarterdeck with wholly happy memories.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2017
Thank you and delighted you had a good holiday. I appreciated your remark about don't notices, we have really tried to avoid those.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful seaside stay - great for families and groups”
Reviewed 1 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful stay at The Quarterdeck. The property was spotless when we arrived and had everything we needed for a bank holiday weekend group getaway. Location is great, less than 5 minutes to the sea, and the house was very comfortable when the weather stopped us from being outdoors. Inside is incredibly spacious and well set up for families as well as groups of adults with a wonderful garden and great games room. We enjoyed the evening sunshine on the balcony and relaxing around the tables indoors and out. Booking was very smooth and lots of information provided. We particularly loved the great showers and the feeling of space and privacy even in a residential location. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2017
Hi Philippa, Thank you for this great review. Really delighted you had such a great holiday. Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boo1878
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic location & plenty of space”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were a party of 3 couples and a child and there was plenty of space for us all. The location of The Quarterdeck is brilliant as can be in the town within 10-15 minutes. The facilities at the house are brilliant and the welcome pack is wonderful. We did have a couple of issues on our stay in regards to the hob but they have already arranged for this to be replaced and we have an to advise of an issue with the downstairs toilet but with another 2 in the house it was not a problem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mummajule...
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Relaxation with plenty of living space.”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We love Swanage, but wanted a house that would let us all have space to relax and chill out in, without stepping on each other's toes.
Plenty of this at The Quarterdeck.
Adequate bathrooms, huge utility area, a games room and open plan lounge,kitchen and dining room.
Easy walk to the beach even with little ones. We even rented a beach hut on the sea front to make this holiday suit everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space it offered, a very light and bright property.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing