We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast,
Nearby Hotels
Knoll House Hotel(Studland Bay)
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mortons House Hotel(Corfe Castle)
US$242
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Bankes Arms Hotel(Corfe Castle)(Great Value!)
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$229
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Pig on the Beach(Studland Bay)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
22
12
1
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
12
1
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroger and suesea viewbreakfast was excellentperfect locationrogerstoilet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Visited Swanage for a couple of nights,hubby, me and 12 year old. Found Roger and Sue very friendly and welcoming, nothing to much trouble. The B&B does not have ensuite facitilties but that does not bother us, in a nice quiet area of the town and only acouple of minutes walk into the town down hill, abit of a struggle going back up the hill, especially for me with a bad knee but otherwise not a problem, there are no tv's in the room but then again does not bother us as we come away to get away from that. Met another lovely family while we were there and got chatting over breakfast, all in all alovely place, small and friendly. Breakfast was lovely just what we wanted and tea and coffee facilties in the room, might return in October for acouple of nights over half term. Thankyou Sue and Roger

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Having had a really good week here in June = we booked again for a few days in late August/early September - another warm welcome - made to feel like friends rather than paying guests - huge breakfasts, masses of local knowledge and a real interest in their customers. The lack of tv in the rooms is no real hardship - lovely tv lounge on the ground floor and to be honest on a walking holiday we did not miss the tv at all. Rooms are furnished in keeping with the rest of the house, we had a room at the back overlooking the garden this time - nice and quiet - although we did miss the sea view - but that was because we booked late!!! Lovely people who we really missed when we moved on to Longleat for the 2nd part of the week!! Parking is specially good - plenty of room off the road! Excellent!

Room Tip: The sea view from the front bedrooms are amazing - but the back rooms at the back are very peaceful!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sceatsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We have stayed at the Hermitage 6 or 7 times in the last few years, and find it welcoming, friendly, clean and convenient for our needs. It is central and only a few minuets walk (downhill) to a great choice of shops, restaurants and pubs.
We use the B/B as a base to explore this beautiful area of Dorset, and also to enjoy the Festival weekends, which for a small town, is quite superb!
We return for a comfortable rest, and wake to a hearty breakfast to start another adventurous day.
Leave the hassle of work behind, forget TV for a few days! Take a steam train ride to Corfe Castle and walk back to Swanage over the hills with amazing views. (just one suggestion for a lovely day out)
We would like to thank Sue and Roger for thier kind hospitallity over the last few years, and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryandJan387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This was our third visit to this B & B, we return every year for the Swanage Folk Festival.
Susan and Roger always make us welcome and produce excellent breakfasts.
The room was ideal for our needs (three guests = three beds) and having a washbasin in the room is always useful, the room was clean, the beds comfortable and the tea making facility was also useful. Our room was at the rear of the building over looking Roger and Susan's lovely garden. Sharing bathroom/toilet facilities was no problem for us guys having stayed in many traditional style B & B 's in the past. but could do with a small hand wash basin in top floor toilet/shower room for hand washing after using toilet. With no TV's in the bedrooms there is no danger of waking your neighbours or being woken yourself by the sound of a TV. The Hermitage is in a good position being minutes from the town centre and the sea front and there are many pubs and varied eating places just down the hill in the town.
We left our car in the guest house car park for the whole of our stay and walked around the town and various music venues - Folk Festival weekend there is much on - much of it street entertainments. Swanage is a lovely traditional seaside town and the Hermitage is a lovely traditional seaside guest house.

Room Tip: Ask what rooms are available to suit your party of guests and ask if front bedrooms with a sea view are available if this is important to you.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MrGentle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Amazing house with character and views, do not stay here if you travel a lot and are use to en-suite facilities, nice towels, comfortable bed etc!...needs some new furniture ,towels etc. Friendly owners with very good breakfast. Bed was very uncomfortable,so very bad nights sleep, plastic matress cover causing sheets and me to slip all over the place!..would not recommend this to friend or family, unless had a revamp of basic facilities.

Room Tip: watch your head in shower room on top floor ( shared )
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pumaparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rogerpic, Owner at Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast,, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2011

I would like to respond to the review headed"timewarp"
The hermitage as the writer commented is an amazing edwardian property, perfectly situated with enviouble views over the bay.to keep the character of the building we have tried to furnish in keeping with the property, i have been an antique collector for many years and like to share this passion with my guests.
I appreciate if guests are looking for a modern boutiqe type bed and breakfast the hermitage should not be your choice, but if you,re looking for a homely, friendly, clean [displaying our high acheivment award in hygiene and cleanliness issued from purbeck didtrict council] fantastic breakfast, then this is the place for you.
however i am sorry this guest had a sleepless night, we have learned to our cost that we have to protect the matress, this paticular one has been changed and new towels throughout are on order
regards, susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews