We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as always”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swanage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast,
Ranked #38 of 49 Swanage B&B and Inns
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Excellent couple of days with Roger and Sue - like coming home!!!! Internet access has improved tremendously - everything super - moved on to Devon for the rest of the week - but the next b and b not a patch on Roger and Sue - thank you both for your wonderful welcome!

Room Tip: Front room has superb sea views - back room overlook gardens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sceatsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    12
    1
    5
    4
See reviews for
8
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Friendly and welcoming owners, Roger and Sue, who recommended some places in the area to visit. Room fine apart from being a little cold, but it was mid September when we stayed. House is full of antiques, which was like stepping back in time, so for us, it was quite a refreshing change. It was clean and spacious and the view from our front bedroom was fabulous!
Breakfast was delicious and plenty of extra tea or coffee and toast was offered.
Location is perfect for the sea and high street shops.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliesmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Four of us (2 couples) stayed here for 2 nights (minimum stay) recently and found it a pleasant enough experience especially at the price. We had just come out of an awesome B&B in Wells (Canon Grange) so it had a lot to live up to! The owner was friendly and courteous, the bedding was clean and crisp, the breakfast was tasty and filling - what more do you need? Décor was a little old but not worn. If I had any complaint at all it would be the mediocre shower - plenty of heat but no volume so it was hard to rinse off. It was an easy if steep walk into town and there was plenty of parking if you had a car. If you are on a budget this is definitely one to consider.

Room Tip: Room 7 is small but has a sea view. Room 5 is bigger with a garden view. Both had sloping roofs and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Our third visit to a b and b which never disapoints - lovely sea view from our front bedroom, amazing breakfasts every day, nothing is too much trouble, even shared their own (Rogers) special jam when my husband mentioned he wasn;t keen on marmalade, a couple with amazing local knowledge who make each of their guests feel like friends. TV lounge is very welcoming as is all of the house - thank you Roger and Sue for another fantastic week in Swanage which even the dodgy weather couldn;t spoil - would be nice if you could switch the sun on a bit more in August please!! This b and b is ideally suited to a walking holiday - although the hill up from the pub in the evenings is just a hill tooooo far, but if you have enough to drink you just don;t seem to notice really!! Can also recommend the Square and Compass in nearbyWorth Matravers, well worth the walk!

Room Tip: The front bedroom has stunning views across the bay, have been told that the view from the attic roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sceatsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Visited Swanage for a couple of nights,hubby, me and 12 year old. Found Roger and Sue very friendly and welcoming, nothing to much trouble. The B&B does not have ensuite facitilties but that does not bother us, in a nice quiet area of the town and only acouple of minutes walk into the town down hill, abit of a struggle going back up the hill, especially for me with a bad knee but otherwise not a problem, there are no tv's in the room but then again does not bother us as we come away to get away from that. Met another lovely family while we were there and got chatting over breakfast, all in all alovely place, small and friendly. Breakfast was lovely just what we wanted and tea and coffee facilties in the room, might return in October for acouple of nights over half term. Thankyou Sue and Roger

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Having had a really good week here in June = we booked again for a few days in late August/early September - another warm welcome - made to feel like friends rather than paying guests - huge breakfasts, masses of local knowledge and a real interest in their customers. The lack of tv in the rooms is no real hardship - lovely tv lounge on the ground floor and to be honest on a walking holiday we did not miss the tv at all. Rooms are furnished in keeping with the rest of the house, we had a room at the back overlooking the garden this time - nice and quiet - although we did miss the sea view - but that was because we booked late!!! Lovely people who we really missed when we moved on to Longleat for the 2nd part of the week!! Parking is specially good - plenty of room off the road! Excellent!

Room Tip: The sea view from the front bedrooms are amazing - but the back rooms at the back are very peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sceatsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We have stayed at the Hermitage 6 or 7 times in the last few years, and find it welcoming, friendly, clean and convenient for our needs. It is central and only a few minuets walk (downhill) to a great choice of shops, restaurants and pubs.
We use the B/B as a base to explore this beautiful area of Dorset, and also to enjoy the Festival weekends, which for a small town, is quite superb!
We return for a comfortable rest, and wake to a hearty breakfast to start another adventurous day.
Leave the hassle of work behind, forget TV for a few days! Take a steam train ride to Corfe Castle and walk back to Swanage over the hills with amazing views. (just one suggestion for a lovely day out)
We would like to thank Sue and Roger for thier kind hospitallity over the last few years, and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryandJan387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.8 mi away
Sandhaven Guest House
Sandhaven Guest House
#16 of 49 in Swanage
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Robertsbrook Guest House
Robertsbrook Guest House
#12 of 49 in Swanage
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Town Hall Lodge
Town Hall Lodge
#17 of 49 in Swanage
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
A Great Escape Guest House
0.3 mi away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#10 of 49 in Swanage
350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#4 of 49 in Swanage
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast,? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast,

Property: Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast,
Address: Bed & Breakfast 1 Manor Road, Swanage BH19 2BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast, Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing