We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swanage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast,
Ranked #38 of 50 Swanage B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Our stay at the Hermitage was nothing short of DELIGHTFUL!! Sue and Roger were the most excellent of host and nothing was too much trouble, the breakfast was amazing and the warm welcome after a day of hill walking was most welcomed. The location was just perfect as was their home - we will be returning early next year. A really big thank you for a wonderful stay x

Room Tip: We had a room with a garden view as this was most pleasant, squirrels on the lawn was a real treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carole m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rogerpic, Owner at Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast,, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

thank you for the loverly review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, I promise I didn,t order the squirrel entertainment.looking forward to your return visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

Owner not at all helpful on booking. We saw rooms available sign and rang to book at 5.42 we were told to call back at 6pm. When we called back at 6pm we were told we could have a room but would have to pay for all the beds as it was a family room, also would not accept booking over the phone. The room would only be ours when we had paid in advance for it, if anyone got to the house before us it would be first come first served. The room was very dated overall, I felt like I had stepped into a bedroom from the 1960's including flowery sheets. Biggest disappointment was room did not have en suite facilities (no rooms have en suite I believe). Also the bed was very soft and dipped into the middle.
On a good note facilities were clean and yes the breakfast was nice although I was asked if I would like full English breakfast on booking then in the morning when I left baked beans on plate was told I should have said I did not like beans and mushrooms could have been provided. (Maybe I should have been told what would be on the breakfast)

Room Tip: House on a steep hill with good views from front bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rogerpic, Owner at Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast,, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

our policy in august being peak season is min. 2 night stay, as we had 1 room vacant on this sat. night when the lady rang I said if she could view the room after 6pm we would let her have 1 night and told her the tarrif.she promptly arrived looked at the room and bathroom facilities, I explained it is the norm. for overnight stays to pay in advance which she seemed happy to do so,i took their breakfast order and as we were booked to go out for the evening gave my cheery goodnight.so sad she was disappointed,she seemed to be relieved to have found a vacancyso late on a sat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Another excellent few days - breakfast goes from strength to strength - nothing is too much trouble - just what you want from a b and b - good room, good breakfast and excellent local knowledge and at a very fair price! We will return (as always) for another stay in August - thank you for an excellent holiday!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sceatsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rogerpic, Owner at Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast,, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

thank you for your kind review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the sun made an appearance.glad you chose swanage to celebrate your birthday, looking forward to seeing you both in august.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We booked for 1 night at this B and B. It was very short notice, less than 24 hours, but Susan accepted the booking. We arrived 5:45pm and she greeted us and showed us a choice of rooms then left us to decide which 1 we preferred. We chose a bright room. The room was clean and comfortable with space four our clothes and belongings. Tea and coffee was available in the room which we soon made use of.
Full English breakfast is served at 8:30 am. Very well cooked by Roger. More tea and toast was offered (and accepted) .
The house is decorated in sympathy with it's age and style which we both really liked. There is a sitting room where we sat and watched TV for a while after we ate out in town. ( The Crow' Nest, very good indeed separate review to follow)
All in all Avery pleasant stay and very good value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rogerpic, Owner at Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast,, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

we were happy to be able to accomadate you at short notice, so pleased you enjoyed your stay.we know how much you love swanage and hope it won.t be long before you visit our lovely area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Our third visit to the Hermitage and as ever we had a great stay. Thanks again to Roger and Sue for your wam hospitality. Sue, the recommendations for that walk to Dancing Ledge was absolutely spot on.... and that cooked breakfast just gets better Roger! See you again in the near future we hope.

Room Tip: Grab a sea view room if you can, spectacular outlook on Old Harry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZParton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rogerpic, Owner at Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast,, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

thank you for taking the time to send your review,glad you enjoyed dancing ledge, looking forward to your next visit with us, sue and roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Having read the reviews by other guests I was not prepared for the poor standard of accommodation at this B and B. We stayed as part of a group of eight walking the final part of the S W Coast Path and this was, by far, the worst place we stayed at.
The owner was very pleasant but the rooms were shabby in the extreme - the bedding was dated and washed-out as were the towels - I note that a review two years ago suggested that new towels were needed but we didn`t see any evidence that this had happened.The mattress was sagging and the pillows needed replacing.The lighting was poor and the whole effect was dismal and dingy.We rent out a property ourselves and are constantly replacing tired linens as we feel that this is of the highest importance.
Worst of all, 7 people were sharing one very old-fashioned bathroom without a separate loo - there was one downstairs but this was in the porch and the hot water tap was not working. The bath mat looked as though it had been washed for over 20 years and there was a bottle of bath cleaner and a dubious-looking rag on the side of the bath. After a 7 hour walk on a very wet day it was most unpleasant to have to wait around for several people to use the only shower available to us.It could have been even worse as two of the rooms also had bunks in them so four more people could have been sharing!In 2013 this is simply not acceptable.
Breakfast was merely cornflakes or Weetabix with a full English cooked breakfast which was reasonable but there was no fresh or even tinned fruit.I am amazed that some reviewers have said that the breakfast was fantastic - perhaps theirs was different from ours!This is the first time that I have felt unable to stay in a place and we left after breakfast.
I know others have commented on the interesting furniture etc but that does not make up for a property whose facilities are set in the 1960s. We paid less for much better elsewhere.This is an attractive building but in dire need of modernisation which could be done without adversely affecting the character of the house.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rogerpic, Owner at Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast,, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

we are sad this guest didn,t enjoy their overnight stay with us,as they mentioned other reviewers feel differently.I would like to clarify afew comments, the linen, towels, bath mats are replaced at regular intervals due to the regular washing,they were all purchased for this easter,2013.the uncomfy bed and pillows, along with dim lighting in the bedroom is abit of a puzzle to us as this particular room is requested the most by our return guests.regarding the bathroom facilities, we offer 2 showers. 1 bath and 3 w.c,s, not as quoted only 1 bathroom.regarding our breakfast, I asked the previous evening what everyone would like and served this accordingly, there was no mention of fruit which is a shame as I always have a large bowl of fresh fruit available,the cereals and fruit juice are self service to have as much as they would like, and yes other reviewers do say how fantastic roger,s full English breakfasts are.
my priority to this walking group was firstly to make sure the rooms were warm to greet them after their long walk all day in rain and muddy conditions, to dry any clothes if necessary, and make their stay a pleasant one, I offered to drive to meet them from the station
we at the hermitage try our best to offer a homely,friendly, clean b@b and are very pleased that guests return and enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Excellent couple of days with Roger and Sue - like coming home!!!! Internet access has improved tremendously - everything super - moved on to Devon for the rest of the week - but the next b and b not a patch on Roger and Sue - thank you both for your wonderful welcome!

Room Tip: Front room has superb sea views - back room overlook gardens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sceatsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.2 mi away
Town Hall Lodge
Town Hall Lodge
#13 of 50 in Swanage
232 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
968 reviews
1 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.2 mi away
Robertsbrook Guest House
Robertsbrook Guest House
#11 of 50 in Swanage
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#7 of 50 in Swanage
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast,? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast,

Address: Bed & Breakfast 1 Manor Road, Swanage BH19 2BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast, Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing