We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Third visit”
other travellers have booked this property
Steam Railway Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Steam Railway Cottage
Living Room French patio doors in lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Steam Railway Cottage
Living Room
French patio doors in lounge
Sunny Courtyard Garden
Kitchen
Main bedroom
Main bedroom - kingsize bed
2nd Bedroom double bed
3rd Bedroom with Bunk Beds
Main bathroom
En suite shower room
Dining Room
Swanage Bay Punch and Judy
Steam train near Corfe Castle
Swanage Steam Railway Engine Workshop
View from bedroom window
Corfe Castle Station
Swanage Steam Railway Sation
Steam train at nearby work shed
Swanage Steam Train
Swanage Bay Beach
Durdle Door
North end of Swanage Bay Beach
Swanage Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gill C
2 reviews
“Third visit”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

House location 10 min walk to beach. Well equipped kitchen. Lovely little patio garden. Home from home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a fantastic holiday and we were blown away by the facilities provided and the little touches make a massive difference the milk left for us the bottle of wine fantastic house owned by fantastic people will definitely stay again if we can get in

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie P
1 review
“An excellent property”
Reviewed 28 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Just returned home from a weeks stay in Steam Railway Cottage ..... excellent facilities, modern & tastefully furnished. 100% happy. Oh, and luckily had beautiful weather.
Good location. The steam railway runs alongside the property of which we took an enjoyable trip to Corfe Castle, a lovely village, well worth the visit. Lots of places to visit within the surrounding area. Absolutely love Swanage, much prefer a smaller seaside town.
The owners of the property were friendly, wishing us an enjoyable stay and not to hesitate to contact them should we have any queries/problems of which I thought was reassuring so felt confident with the booking.
I would definitely recommend this property, although reluctant, if the word is spread too far it might be difficult for availability for us in the future!!
We will definitely be returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoMG190
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable,spacious cottage”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We spent a comfortable week at Steam Railway Cottage.We cannot fault the accommodation. The only thing that needed improvement was the good old British weather.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia...
1 review
“Excellent property”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Superb property in an excellent location. Only a short walk to the seafront, restaurants and town centre.
A co-op supermarket two min's away and more importantly the Swanage Steam railway on your doorstep. We enjoyed seeing the train puff past throughout the day.
The cottage is in a lovely quiet spot, there is a pretty courtyard which is a Suntrap in the evenings. It has the benefit of secure parking and it is equipped with everything you might need during your stay.
We were lucky enough to chat to a couple of the residents who live in this small mews and they were incredibly friendly and helpful.
This really is a home away from home and I can understand why so many people make a return visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
350Christ...
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
“Excellent accomodation in Swanage”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Excellent location, next to Heritage steam railway line. Clean, comfortable with all amenities needed for home from home. We enjoyed travelling by the Purbeck breezer buses for sightseeing and walking. No need for a car.

We will be back to Swanage and Steam railway cottage

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;