We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Cottage in a great location!”

Review of Millpond Cottage

Millpond Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Millpond Cottage
Sitting room 1 Kitchen/Diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Millpond Cottage
Sitting room 1
Kitchen/Diner
Sitting room 2
Bedroom 1
ensuite bathroom for bedroom 1
ensuite bathroom for bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
Family bathroom
Front steps to cottage
Just relaxing!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
goatman07
Guilford, Surrey
2 reviews
“Fabulous Cottage in a great location!”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Millpond Cottage is a lovely home to spend your holiday in swanage! The owner Alison has done wonders to make the cottage as homely as possible. Its location is perfect with a short 10 minute walk to the seafront and 5 minutes to the local supermarket.
The cottage resides by a millpond with ducks, which my 8 month old daughter loved to watch. It's very well equipped and caters for all ages. The garden was a joy, sitting out on the lawn playing with our daughter, so peaceful for a central location, ok...except for the church bells on sunday but that didn't spoil our day at all. The welcome pack was a lovely touch, my wife loved the local chocolates!
I would highly recommend this cottage a truly wonderful place! Thank you Alison.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoomer P
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cotswolds-by-the-sea!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

After a wonderful, sunny week in Lyme Regis but with very disappointing accommodation, we were delighted to find that the 2nd week of our annual holiday was going to be spent in such a well kept cottage. The day we arrived was wall-to-wall sunshine and the walk through the pretty garden to gain entrance was one of the best introductions to a holiday cottage we have ever experienced.
Fortunately, we were blessed with glorious sunshine for the whole week and when we weren’t exploring, we spent almost every moment in the garden. The planting has been very cleverly executed with heritage roses, sweet lavender and scented geraniums (to name but a few). This added greatly to the historic feel of the surroundings and the evenings were a delight on the senses, provoking an emotional response at every turn of the head. We enjoyed a barbecue on 5 of the 6 evenings of our stay and were so impressed with the performance and results of it; we bought an exact replica after our holiday!
Once inside, we were greeted with a vase of fresh flowers, chocolates and a welcome note, so we immediately felt at home. The interior of the cottage was very well equipped with good quality appliances and utensils. The newly renovated double bedroom and en suite was modern yet still in keeping with the theme of the cottage.
The cottage was situated far enough from the town to be very quiet at all times (save the peel of church bells), yet still only a 10 minute walk to the delights of Swanage. The large Co Op was only 5 minutes walk round the back of the church and sold everything we needed during our stay but there is also a convenience store located at the top of the road (1 min walk).
We enjoyed every single second of our stay and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it.
The memories of Millpond Cottage will be with us for a very long time. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful garden.
Liked least: May be a darker colour for Carpets and Sofa. Tiny observation!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Reviewed 16 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was all so lovely
Liked least: Nothing to fault at all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MoryBourn...
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fab!”
Reviewed 4 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Excellent cottage in lovely pretty setting just 5 minutes walk from the town/beach. Really comfortable and a standard of fittings. Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmPalmer
City of London, England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in an amazingly special location”
Reviewed 12 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011

We visited Millpond Cottage with friends and had a wonderful time. It's a cozy but surprisingly spacious cottage, beautifully furnished (stylish - no chintz!) and in a perfect location. It's actually on the millpond and has a large garden so we sat outside and felt as though we were in the countryside, yet within 5 minutes walk were in central Swanage with all the shops, restaurants etc. we'd ever need. The owner was super-quick to respond to queries and the cottage was immaculate and amazingly well equipped. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful garden & pond, but only 5 mins walk to town
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robini
Leicester, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Comfortable, central, wonderfully equipped”
Reviewed 27 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed as a group of 5 (2 x grandparents, 2 x parents, 1 one-year-old) in July 2011. Despite laughably bad weather (14 degrees, wind, rain) we had a great time. The location could not, literally, be more central in Swanage since it adjoins the millpond where the original village grew up (source of fresh water near the coast). Nowadays, this lies at the centre of one row of cottages which faces Millpond cottage across a traffic-free lane. It is exceptionally quiet (exacpt on Sunday morning when the peel of beels from the adjoining church gets you out of bed).

Some details. The accommodation has 3 good-size bedrooms 2 x double, 1 x twin. There are two living rooms, each of which you would be happy to have at home, although each sits just 4-5 so if you are a larger group, you might be cosy if you share one room. There is an excellent kitchen - fully appointed and with a truly admirable range of utensils (more than we have at home). We talked to the neighbours, who said that the renters used to have this as their family home, and it shows. Rather than the minimalistic approach to decoration and facilities that you often find, this feels like a family home that people have just moved out of. As an example, the shed is replete with barbecue, buckets, spades, and all the things you would accumlate if you lived by the seaside...... The garden is simply beautiful. It is immediately beside the millpond and stretches down for maybe 30 metres with a variety of sitting areas among lawn and borders. One tip; our one-year old (crawling) was fine, and older children above 5 would be very happy too, but those in between might be a problem because the pond is so close and so accessible.

We would also like to thank Alison, the landlady, who provided very fast advice by phone when we needed directions to the local health centre

The situation is maybe 400 metres/yards walk from the town centre (300metres/yards from the health centre, we can now report with confidence), 600m/yds from the beach. It's an easy walk for a family, perhaps a little steep for the less mobile. There are a few parking spaces immediately outside (first-come-first-served), with other options within a couple of hundred yards.

Swanage is a seaside town from the 60s (in a good way) with traditional, family-run shops, chippies, low-key amusements and a sandy beach with excellent (though chilly) swimming.

For food, we would recommend the Black Swan (50yds) for excellent pub grub and traditional spit-and-sawdust pub ambience, and the Ocean Bay on the sea-front for very good high-end food with an exemplary situation by the beach. You'll need to book the latter.

In short, exceptionally good accommodation in the heart of an excellent traditional English resort.

The price is quite high, but the value is still very good.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$950
/ Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing