We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pretty cottage in lovely location.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Millpond Cottage

Millpond Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Millpond Cottage
Sitting room 1 Kitchen/Diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Millpond Cottage
Sitting room 1
Kitchen/Diner
Sitting room 2
Bedroom 1
ensuite bathroom for bedroom 1
ensuite bathroom for bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
Family bathroom
Front steps to cottage
Just relaxing!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
buffyfan6...
Halifax United KIngdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Pretty cottage in lovely location.”
Reviewed 16 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Second stay at this cottage. Ideal location for beach and Swanage attractions. Lovely garden beside millpond with ducks. Would stay again as love this area.
Cottage clean and comfortable.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2018
Dear Georgia
Thank you for your review, I am delighted you enjoyed your visit to the cottage for the second time. I hope we get to welcome you again in the future.
kind regards
Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 May 2017
Thank you for the lovely review of Millpond Cottage and your time there, it is wonderful to know that the cottage has lived up to your expectations. I hope we can welcome you back to Swanage again soon.
kind regards Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gwyth
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyliic”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Millpond Cottage is surrounded by similar cottages around the mill pond next to the church and is the most beautiful setting. The cottage itself if delightful, very well equipped and with a beautiful garden. We have had such a peaceful few days with brilliant walking. Would thoroughly recommend,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the cottage and the peaceful surroundings
Liked least: Didn't dislike anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin R
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I shouldn't do a review as I don't want to share this wonderful place, but praise where praise is due....
We spent a week with family at the cottage, there were seven of us in all.
I could not find one thing wrong with our stay.
Despite being seven of us, we were never on top of each other.
Everything is catered for inc separate large TV with films supplied. a fantastic all mod -cons kitchen. Lovely bedrooms, the list just goes on and on.
There are games for kids and everything you need for the beach.
The garden is absolutely beautiful with bar-b-q, seating and even a posh outside loo.
Whilst it has all of these extras to make your holiday perfect, it still manages to retain its old fashioned style and beauty.
It has a lovely atmosphere as well and after a week it felt like home. I think this is partly due to the owner genuinely wanting everyone to enjoy their stay and has gone above and beyond to achieve that.
We could not go this year but hopefully will start again next.
A wonderful place and a credit to the owner.
P.S. Please dont go as I want it all to myself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of the week
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navigator...
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An oasis in the heart of Swanage”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My family and i spent a very special Easter weekend at Millpond Cottage. We have unanimously agreed that we will return. The cottage, with its beautiful garden, is very comfortable and is set beside this picturesque pond decorated with ducks, an old stone bridge, weeping willows and rows of old cottages. It really is an oasis set right in the heart of Swanage. it is well within walking distance to the beach and shops yet tranquil enough to believe you are deep within the country. It is also brilliantly located to visit other tourist attractions like Durdle Door, Lulworth Cove and Corfe Castle. We highly recommend staying there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Setting and Garden
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loisn249
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“absolutely stunning”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

A beautiful cottage. Home from home and furnished to a very high spec. spotless and extremely comfortable. We would have no hesitation in booking again. Lovely garden which I would imagine that during the right time of year would be lovely to spend time in. Very close to everything, easy walking distance to everything. lovely pub with great food and ale very close by. Swanage is a lovely traditional town with lovely shops and some amazing scenery with a really Lovely beach. All in all a really really lovely cottage and a really really lovely place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We just loved the cottage
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony P
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A beautiful oasis in Dorset”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

A quite lovely house set by the millpond and church. The house is large and very comfortably furnished, the garden is simply stunning, you could be forgiven if you thought you were in the middle of the countryside. We had a tranquil, relaxing and peaceful holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden
Liked least: The white carpet (staring to look a little grubby at seasons end)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing