We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The postman calls once ...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swanage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Post Office Swanage - Billet Doux
Ranked #35 of 50 Swanage B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Jurassic Way Walk. Good sized room with balcony onto garden. Helpful, friendly hosts. Great breakfast (one of best on trip) with eggs individually captioned with name of hen responsible. Took advantage of a 2 day stay to walk to Corfe Castle along the Portland Way - highly recommended.

The postman only calls once but we would do so twice!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottishVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

I have stayed at The Old Post Office, Swanage on more than one occasion and have never found it wanting. Rowena and Dave make you feel so welcome, like old friends whilst still allowing you your own space and privacy. The standard of the rooms, bathrooms and furnishings are of the highest quality. The standard B&B is a million miles away from what Rowena and Dave achieve. Breakfast is also first class including eggs from the hens at the back of the house! I was also lucky enough to be shown around the newly refurbished one bedroom self-contained flat which boasts it own parking space, garden and patio area and has a sofa bed in the beautifully appointed lounge and can therefore sleep up to four people. The Old Post Office is well located, away from the hustle bustle but close enough to the beach and other amenities. In general an A1 experience and one to be repeated often. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Only two B&B rooms, one twin the other double. Twin has ensuite, Double as own full bathroom bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SusanTunnacliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We actually stayed next door, in the self-catering apartment, called the Billet Doux. This was immaculately and thoughtfully decorated. All the little extras were thought of, such as washing up liquid and nice shower gel in the bathroom, which was useful as we forgot everything! The position was great, practically on the SW coast path and about a 15- 20 min walk from Swanage town centre. There is a very good pub at the end of the road, called The Crows Nest, which serves great food and has a lovely atmosphere. All in all a fabulous weekend in a great little place. Rowena and David have created a wonderful retreat, thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laetitia32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

hey we stayed at the Old Poost Office mid of october .It si a lovey place very warm and friendly .The room we stayed in was very nice and cosy with a little balcony .Lovey breakfast and plenty of it .Short distance from the sea.and town .I hope if i visit Swanage again i will stay there

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magdalena b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I stayed with a friend at the Old Post Office and we were made instantly welcome. The proprietors do not have a separate living area so you are immediately in their home! The twin room was clean, very nicely appointed and spacious and the beds were very comfortable. Nice little touches of home made flap jack and fresh milk in a flask were much appreciated.

The room had a little balcony which looked out on the garden of this old wooden bungalow which originally formed part of an old war time home of Canadian troops. We did think that a little more could be done to that part of the garden to make it more interesting to look at and that the wooden balcony could have been swept but it was great to see the chickens who give their eggs for breakfast.

Breakfast is to die for. We had breakfast in the kitchen, at the kitchen table where we were joined by the other guests. Unfortunately the weather was not good enough to have breakfast in the garden so we did not see that part of the property but with breakfast that good it didn’t matter. I have already recommended it to friends and would definitely recommend to any traveller who likes quirky, comfortable and welcoming accommodation.

Room Tip: The twin room is more spacious than the double
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fans!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

There are two rooms: the one we stayed in - nearest the road but still quiet - has a separate, but large and lovely, bathroom, and he owners plan to extend the verandah outside, next year, to provide it with its own sitting-out space. Beautiful decor, spotless. Kind and considerate hosts, very relaxed, lovely breakfasts (outside if the weather is kind), lots to do in the locality. definitely a place to return to.

Room Tip: There are two rooms: the one nearest the road has a separate, but large bathroom, and the other is e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timratcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.9 mi away
Town Hall Lodge
Town Hall Lodge
#13 of 50 in Swanage
229 reviews
0.9 mi away
A Great Escape Guest House
1.0 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#3 of 50 in Swanage
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandhaven Guest House
Sandhaven Guest House
#15 of 50 in Swanage
100 reviews
0.9 mi away
Easter Cottage
Easter Cottage
#25 of 50 in Swanage
55 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#10 of 50 in Swanage
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Post Office Swanage - Billet Doux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Post Office Swanage - Billet Doux

Address: 4 Ballard Estate, Swanage BH19 1QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 minutes walk from the cliffs, The Billet Doux is a small self catering holiday cottage with excellent facilities. One double bedroom overlooking a small garden. Beautiful sunny sitting room with french doors leading on to garden and double sofa bed. Spacious bathroom with large shower. Delightful kitchen with dining table, fridge, freezer, washing machine and dishwasher. Parking and easy access. Owners regret no dogs, no smokers and no children under 12 The Billet Doux is within 10 minutes walk of the centre of Swanage with all its shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Post Office Swanage - Billet Doux Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing