We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Beer but average food”
Review of The White Swan

The White Swan
Ranked #73 of 86 Restaurants in Swanage
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
highcliffe
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice Beer but average food”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Not a bad atmosphere for a Pub, but not very good as a restaurant.
The Pub had a fairly good range of Ales, but the food was somewhat average. I had fish and chips.
The fish was OK, but the chips looked and tasted like Oven Chips. It is very sad that a seaside pub/restaurant should dish up Fish and Chips with Chips that have not been hand cut and fried.
Service wasn't too bad, but one of the Bar men patted a dog, and didn't wash his hands before serving

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barrysview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    48
    30
    37
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Didn't stop for lunch, but it looked so good! Service was great and food was delicious.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank butterflymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“customer service”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Iam writing to complain about the service of the bar staff. Three of us went into the pub tuesday 19th june, where we ordered three all day breakfast, a larger shandy, a pot of tea and a lime and soda. The lime and soda tasted very sweet, like it was lime and lemonade. I took this back to the bar and asked for a lime and soda as i thought the one i had was lime and lemonade. They poured me another drink, this one tasted the same. When i pointed this out to the staff, they were rude and said that it was soda and did i want to try the soda. I asked them to try the drink that they had poured for me and they didnt and just pointed out that they had done lime and soda as requested. This made me feel like they were calling me a lier and i had enought of beeing made to feel like that and so told them not to bother. We all enjoyed the food, which was lovely. But i feel that the customer service was a lot to be desired and ruined the time spent in the pub. I work with the public and have never treated anyone this way. would not go back again

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great pub grub”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

8 of us arrived at this pub - advertising Piddle Brewery ales - at just after 1pm and we had to wait more than we thought we should have done but the food was worth the wait. Those having the Special of the day - stir fry Chillied prawns thought the Chef had put too many chillies in but the prawn baguette served with great chips and a garnish was great value as was the soup of the day. The liver and bacon was well received as was the ham, eggs and chips!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nickrob52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

been a few times over the years, always had good food and always a good selection of beer on tap. good childrens menu too and dog friendly

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank pauljames5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Swan also viewed

Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing