We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caythorpe House”
Review of Caythorpe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caythorpe House
Ranked #7 of 48 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Caythorpe House”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Good location, close to beach, town centre, bus station and the Swanage railway. Alan made us very welcome on arrival, offering us a cup of tea immediately, and was always attentive to his guests. Breakfasts were good and plentiful. The room was clean and comfortable. This is one place we will definitely revisit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick and Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Owner at Caythorpe House, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Hi Nick & Linda, Thank you for your great review. It was good to have you stay with us. We are so lucky being so close to the beach and the town centre. Being on the flat is also a boon too! Looking forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Swanage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
88
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Swanage is a place I have visited many times, to the extent I refer to it as my home from home.
It is the first time I have stayed at Caythorpe Hotel.
The hotel is owned by Alan Ould, who took over about 12 months ago. He is doing a mighty fine job! I had tried to book some rooms in Swanage for my birthday and was having no joy. Alan was the only proprietor to explain to me that a major event was going on that weekend and I wouldn’t find anywhere and that it might be best to try another date. Alan was booked out but had a family room left if we didn’t mind sharing. It was myself and two friends for one night so we figured we’d ‘Cope’.
Alan sent through a receipt and information on how to find the hotel in plenty of time. We arrived and were greeted by a very friendly person, who was Alan. Throughout the whole stay nothing could be too much trouble and he was always ready to give advice on where was good to eat and was really supporting local businesses. The room was lovely, it went beyond our expectations of something we’d ‘cope’ with. It was clean and comfortable with a nice sized shower room, a television, ample storage and coffee making facilities. There were a few options available at breakfast and Alan even let us leave our car there after check out so we could enjoy Swanage for a little while longer.
I will definitely be back to Swanage, that was never in doubt, but I can say that I will definitely be back at Caythorpe Hotel…hopefully very soon!
Thank you Alan!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Owner at Caythorpe House, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Hi Alison, Thank you for such a great review. It was a pleasure having you and your friends stay and I look forward to welcoming you back to Caythorpe on your next trip to Swanage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Great location only 2 minutes to beach and only a minutes walk to the bus / train station , Great breakfast served by Alan and his staff. Nice clean, comfortable rooms.
Look forward to my next stay , Would highly recommend a stay if you are looking for a great British seaside break .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Owner at Caythorpe House, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Hi Mark, Thank you for your kind words. We are blessed with a great location in Swanage and on the flat too. Being positioned so near the beach and the town is what makes us a popular choice. Looking forward to welcoming you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Our 2nd stay and we were looked after excellently by Alan as always. Great breakfast, great location only 2 mins to beach and beautifully refurbished rooms. Would highly recommend a stay if you are looking for a uk break away!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Owner at Caythorpe House, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. There certainly were changes between your visits and it is very rewarding to here that you loved the new decor in the rooms. Looking forward to you returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

What a lovely B&B this is! I can only reiterate what has been said before. Alan is a great host, friendly but not 'in your face'. We stayed in room 1 which has a wonderful sea view. The room was spotless, nicely decorated and the bed very comfortable. The location is spot on, 2 mins from the beach and town. Parking is an added bonus in Swanage, especially as we were in our Morris Traveller (aka Horace the Morris!)
The breakfast was very nice, it is so nice to be able to order exactly what you want.
Very highly recommended, would definitely stay here again!
Also it is very good value compared to similar establishments in Swanage

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bucksgirl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Owner at Caythorpe House, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Thank you for your great review. I think you stole the show with Horace however! All of our guests really liked your 1966 Morris Traveller - even our Laundry man commented on what beautiful, original condition he is in. 47 years old and never restored (they don't make 'em like that nowadays). We are extremely lucky having on-site parking for each room, especially as it now costs over £8.00 for a 24 hour period down at the beach Car Park. Glad you liked the room, the team and I really laboured to get the refurbished rooms ready for Easter and it is good to know that all the effort is appreciated. Next time you visit maybe you will bring a big Healey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

On arrival we were greeted by the very friendly Alan, who helped us take our bags to our room. Very kind of him and much needed for a pregnant woman and her mum :-)
Our room was lovely, spotlessly clean and nice decor. Although near a busy road, we still got a great night sleep in the very comfy bed.
Breakfast next morning was great start to the day. Alan is super accomodating and if there's anything not there you want, he will try to get it for you!
One of the best things is also the location. New visitors to Swanage, I warn you...some B&Bs are on massive hills! The Caythorpe is perfect, just a 5 min stroll from beach and shops.
Will definitely be returning again once little one has arrived :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hols_ob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Owner at Caythorpe House, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. They really are appreciated! So pleased that you and your Mum had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Caythorpe for another relaxing weekend after the happy event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

We were greeted on arrival by Alan and a much needed brew and biscuits in the lounge (nice touch). We stayed in rooms 1 and 2, fabulous sea views, very clean, spacious and lovely rooms. Best hotel breakfasts I've had and caters for veggies too. Wonderful location, 2 mins walk from beach and town, free car park. Overall a fantastic stay, best hotel location in the area, would definitely stay again. Alan and all the staff are so friendly, warm and accommodating. I highly recommend anyone stay here. Thank you for making me and my family so welcome. If I could add 1 thing it would be a bench so we could sit in the garden.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bolton_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Owner at Caythorpe House, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. It was a pleasure having your family stay with us and I'm pleased that our great location was appreciated. Thanks to for your kind words about our staff, I will pass your comments on to them too.Look forward to your return and will try to get a bench!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Swanage Haven
The Swanage Haven
#1 of 48 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#5 of 48 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caythorpe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caythorpe House

Property: Caythorpe House
Address: 7 Rempstone Road, Swanage BH19 1DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caythorpe House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a comfy bed and a hearty breakfast in our welcoming guest house. En-suite rooms with Freeview DVD Television, tea/coffee facilities. Ground floor single and twin rooms, on site car park, all just a stones throw from the beach and town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Caythorpe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caythorpe House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing