We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value. Superb.”
Review of Caythorpe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Caythorpe House
Ranked #8 of 50 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I was in a party including cyclists and drivers (and a dog) and we all agreed that Caythorpe House was a clean, tidy and well run hotel. The landlord and lady were friendly, made us feel very welcome and went out of their way to accomodate our particular needs. Overall just great value.. I'd certainly stay there again...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerryFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

Having stayed at Caythorpe House for the last 14 years I was very dubious of a new owner coming in but Alan soon put my fears at rest. He is a very warm friendly host who makes you feel very welcome. He has made major changes to the property improving it greatly, the rooms are now very warm and comforting with a much brighter décor and lovely pictures of Swanage throughout. Being a keen fisherman Alan prepared the fish I caught for breakfast with no problem what so ever and always checking if everything is ok with me, offering a coffee no matter what time of day. Every year it gets better. I would thoroughly recommend Caythorpe House to anyone that's why I'm going back next year.
Dave T, Coventry.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Caythorpe House is perfectly located with easy to access to the town & beach . I received a warm helpful welcome and found the room to be reasonably large and well-furnished with en-suite , The bed was comfortable, The breakfast was excellent, Alan makes you feel at home as soon as you enter.. excellent Hospitality good value for Money would defiantly revisit

Room Tip: room to be reasonably large and well-furnished with en-suite , The bed was comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paula m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This B & B is in a fantastic location in Swanage. It is only a short distance from the Bus and Train Station along a level road. The beach is about a 2 minute walk down a gentle slope. Alan took over the B&B just over a year ago and the improvements he has made in that short time are really noticeable. On our arrival we were shown to the guest lounge where we were offered tea and biscuits which was a lovely gesture after a journey. We stayed in Room 1 and it was very clean and nicely decorated and it also had a view of the sea. There was a nice seleciton of cereals and fruit for breakfast, as well as, a choice of a full English cooked breakfast.Alan was a very helpful and friendly host and we would certainly stay with him again when we next visited Swanage.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We thoroughly recommend 'Caythorpe' with it's very friendly atmosphere enhanced by the owner
Alan who makes you feel at home as soon as you enter.
Our bedroom was clean and airy with all the necessary amenities as well as a view of the sea.
The guest house is ideally situated a few minutes walk from either the town or the sea.
No need to pay for car parking in Swanage as Alan has ample parking that he has marked out at the rear of his property.
Before leaving each day we were treated to a really good and well cooked breakfast.
It certainly will not be our last visit to 'Caythorpe'!

Barrie and Keith

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank 424bmj40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Owner at Caythorpe House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Hi Barrie and Keith. Thank you for your very kind words. It is always a pleasure to welcome you to Caythorpe and I do enjoy it when a guest has 'the works' for breakfast and is 'set up' for the day! Looking forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Good location, close to beach, town centre, bus station and the Swanage railway. Alan made us very welcome on arrival, offering us a cup of tea immediately, and was always attentive to his guests. Breakfasts were good and plentiful. The room was clean and comfortable. This is one place we will definitely revisit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick and Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Owner at Caythorpe House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Hi Nick & Linda, Thank you for your great review. It was good to have you stay with us. We are so lucky being so close to the beach and the town centre. Being on the flat is also a boon too! Looking forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Swanage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Swanage is a place I have visited many times, to the extent I refer to it as my home from home.
It is the first time I have stayed at Caythorpe Hotel.
The hotel is owned by Alan Ould, who took over about 12 months ago. He is doing a mighty fine job! I had tried to book some rooms in Swanage for my birthday and was having no joy. Alan was the only proprietor to explain to me that a major event was going on that weekend and I wouldn’t find anywhere and that it might be best to try another date. Alan was booked out but had a family room left if we didn’t mind sharing. It was myself and two friends for one night so we figured we’d ‘Cope’.
Alan sent through a receipt and information on how to find the hotel in plenty of time. We arrived and were greeted by a very friendly person, who was Alan. Throughout the whole stay nothing could be too much trouble and he was always ready to give advice on where was good to eat and was really supporting local businesses. The room was lovely, it went beyond our expectations of something we’d ‘cope’ with. It was clean and comfortable with a nice sized shower room, a television, ample storage and coffee making facilities. There were a few options available at breakfast and Alan even let us leave our car there after check out so we could enjoy Swanage for a little while longer.
I will definitely be back to Swanage, that was never in doubt, but I can say that I will definitely be back at Caythorpe Hotel…hopefully very soon!
Thank you Alan!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Owner at Caythorpe House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Hi Alison, Thank you for such a great review. It was a pleasure having you and your friends stay and I look forward to welcoming you back to Caythorpe on your next trip to Swanage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
2.6 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland Bay
278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.3 mi away
A Great Escape Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#3 of 50 in Swanage
549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Robertsbrook Guest House
Robertsbrook Guest House
#11 of 50 in Swanage
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Town Hall Lodge
Town Hall Lodge
#14 of 50 in Swanage
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caythorpe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caythorpe House

Address: 7 Rempstone Road, Swanage BH19 1DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range: £57 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Caythorpe House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a comfy bed and a hearty breakfast in our welcoming guest house. En-suite rooms with Freeview DVD Television, tea/coffee facilities. Ground floor single and twin rooms, on site car park, all just a stones throw from the beach and town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Caythorpe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caythorpe House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing