We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beside the seaside”
Review of Caythorpe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Caythorpe House
Ranked #8 of 50 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Close to all amenities and within minutes of the seafront Caythorpe house is certainly in a convenient location. Our late booking for the Easter long weekend was handled very efficiently and we were pleased with our newly refurbished family room; ample for 2 people for a few days, but it might get a little cosy if you are a family of four. I couldn't get any hot water out of the shower, but that's probably my fault for trying to take one at 7pm. Cooked breakfasts are as big as you could possibly want, or you could just opt for cereal and toast, or anything in between. The breakfast time is a bit restrictive and trying to get everyone seated and fed between 8.30 and 9 a.m. puts the pressure on a bit when the house is full. Never the less our food came efficiently, though the breakfast room can be a bit of a squeeze. The parking arrangement can also be a bit challenging, with some vehicles needing to be parked in such a way that inevitably someone will be blocked in when the house is full.

That said, Caythorpe House did provide good value for money, and our genial host did everything he could to make our stay enjoyable. Coupled with clean and comfortable rooms this made the overall experience a pleasurable one.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueCisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Owner at Caythorpe House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for your encouraging comments. We trust that you will return to us again for a short break. Best regards. Alan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

Being four ex-cricketing tourers now old enough to have a bowls / pitch and putt weekend away this was our second visit since Alan took over and once again our two twin rooms were perfect for our needs.
The decor was fresh and clean and the cleanliness of the room and ensuite really couldn't be bettered.
Add to that the friendliness of our host and the very good quality of the breakfasts and you have four very happy if slightly hung over blokes already looking forward to booking again next year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StrollA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Owner at Caythorpe House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thanks for the great review. It was a pleasure having you and the three members of your group at Caythorpe House. I look forward to your return annual visit! Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We visited Caythorpe House again for the second time. Alan the owner is an absolute gentleman and cannot do enough to make his guests feel happy and welcome, we will never entertain going to another guest house in this area.
The bedrooms have recently been decorated and are spotlessly clean being serviced on a daily basis, with toiletries supplied , tea and coffee suppliesin the room which is a must for us. Caythorpe house is a three minute walk to the beach, there is also free parking at the guest house. Alan is always helpful in recommending restaurants and places to visit in the area an excellent host in every way I cannot recommend this Guest House enough. Thank you Alan... Cynthia & Jeff Giddens

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Owner at Caythorpe House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Hi Cynthia and Jeff. Thank you for your review - it really means a lot to know that guests value what we do! Really appreciate the comments regarding our rooms. We worked extremely hard during the winter period in order to give our guests a stylish and comfortable room. Looking forward to your next visit. Best wishes. Alan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

May not have a sea view, but yards from the sea and everything else Swanage has to offer this delightful guest house is near the bus station and with free car parking cannot be bettered as a base in which to stay or from which to explore this wonderful area.
The rooms are spotless, being serviced every day, with quality toiletries supplied.
The breakfast "window" from 8.30-9 am may sound a bit tight, but you are made to feel welcome and not rushed and the food itself is absolutely superb - forget your waistline and indulge in a full English!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Owner at Caythorpe House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for your review of Caythorpe House. Swanage truly is an extra ordinary place to have a break - there is so much to do as you have realised. Thanks for the comments about our rooms - next time you return we will try and get you into one of our rooms with a fantastic sea view. Look forward to you both returning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed again at Caythorpe on my six monthly business trip. Still excellent standard, value for money and service. Rooms nice and fresh while being just yards from beach and shops make this an excellent base. Free car parking so can leave car behind while you explore the town. Alan, as always an excellent host.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Essexboy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Owner at Caythorpe House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thanks so much for your kind words, It is always a pleasure having you stay and your comments about our newly decorated rooms was much appreciated. Looking forward to the next time you visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Caythorpe House has a great location near the seafront and town, with a lovely recently decorated room and very good host. Guest House is clean and tidy and comfortable.

Free parking, great breakfast and affordable prices representing very good value for money !!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TPR59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Owner at Caythorpe House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for your kind words. I think that you have very neatly summed up what we offer! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed for one night. The room was very pleasant, spacious and quiet. Very good breakfast with plenty to eat. Car parking and close to the town centre for restauarants etc. This B&B represents very good value and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 5 is very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 379Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Owner at Caythorpe House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Hi Nick, Thank you for your kind comments. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are so lucky to be located so close to both the beach and the town centre meaning that once the car is safely parked it's so easy to reach the attractions of Swanage! We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
2.6 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland Bay
276 reviews
0.3 mi away
A Great Escape Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#3 of 50 in Swanage
548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Town Hall Lodge
Town Hall Lodge
#13 of 50 in Swanage
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#9 of 50 in Swanage
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caythorpe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caythorpe House

Address: 7 Rempstone Road, Swanage BH19 1DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range: £58 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Caythorpe House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a comfy bed and a hearty breakfast in our welcoming guest house. En-suite rooms with Freeview DVD Television, tea/coffee facilities. Ground floor single and twin rooms, on site car park, all just a stones throw from the beach and town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Caythorpe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caythorpe House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing