We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, host and room.”
Review of Caythorpe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caythorpe House
Ranked #7 of 49 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great location, host and room.”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights with a friend. Alan was helpful from the outset and once we arrived, chilling our wine and giving us a warm welcome. He had extensive local knowledge.
The B&B is in a great location in Swanage easy for the sea front, station and restaurants, it would suit those who dont like to walk too far or up hills. The room was modern and spotless. Great to get a mug for the tea in the morning. Breakfast was generous, no end of vegy sausages for us, thank you Alan !
Extremely good value for money and to top it all off street parking. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TCsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Owner at Caythorpe House, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
So pleased that you had a good stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you and so glad that you enjoyed the breakfast with our Linda Mc's veggie sausages. Looking forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
90
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at the house (B&B) on 23/6/14 and it was worth every penny. It has been recently furbished to a very high standard, Rooms were very clean comfortable . The breakfast was excellent. The service more than expected. The manager is well informed and his helpful comments to what to visit and where to go were priceless. We definitely recommend to every one.
G Sheraidah

Room Tip: All rooms are good Location is near traffic junction Car parking facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Owner at Caythorpe House, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are glad that you had a good stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We recently stayed at this B&B with our grandson and it was lovely! The accommodation was central to shops. beach and restaurants. Rooms were comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. Alan was very welcoming and we would definitely recommend this to both individuals and families. We are hoping to return in July. Geoff & Celia

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Owner at Caythorpe House, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hi Geoff and Celia, Thank you so much for your kind words. Really pleased that you had a great stay with us. What was especially pleasing was how much young Jack enjoyed his breakfast each morning! Looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Alan was welcoming right from when I phoned to check availability. We wanted a couple of nights away before the birth of our baby so wanted a quiet break before the chaos! Caythorpe was well maintained, calm and clean. Our room was on the ground floor which was perfect. Beds were comfortable and the rooms tidy and clean. We enjoyed our mini-break and have recommended this B&B to our parents. It is also a good location from the town centre and the beach.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Owner at Caythorpe House, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hi Jo & James, Thank you so much for your kind words. It was really good to have you stay and take some 'time out' prior to the birth of your child. Guests always love our location - just a short flat walk from beach and town centre! Whenever your parents wish to visit they will be most welcome too! All very best wishes for the forth coming event!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

On our return to Caythorpe House we were once again made to feel very welcome by Alan. The accommodation was excellent. The bedroom was very well appointed, clean and comfortable. Very good breakfasts were served which were tasty, plentiful and set us up for the day. Caythorpe is situated in a great position, on the level with both the beach and town only minutes away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Owner at Caythorpe House, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hi Geoff & Carol, Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on Caythorpe House. We are always flattered when a guest makes a return visit to our establishment. It was great to have you staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have just returned from The Caythorpe House Hotel where we stayed for the half term week. Warm friendly B&B near to sea front in Swanage. Comfortable rooms and lounge area with TV. Wifi also available. Breakfast was lovely with good cooked breakfast every morning. Everything that you would need was there and you could ask if you needed anything extra. Made very welcome would go again. Thanks.

Room Tip: We had a room with a double bed and a single bed so good for family with 1 child. Shower ensuite als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Owner at Caythorpe House, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thanks so much for the great review. Glad that you took advantage of the lounge - we are planning on giving this a thorough makeover during the winter - so watch this space! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Swanage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our welcome was warm and friendly. Alan made us feel at home from the beginning. The room was clean, well appointed, and had a very comfortable bed. The lounge and dining room were homely. The English breakfast was great. Although close to the beach and town centre, it was very quiet. We don't know what they could have done to make our stay any more pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Owner at Caythorpe House, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hi Colin, Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to review our Bed & Breakfast. It really means a lot to have our efforts on behalf of our guests' commented upon positively. Whenever you choose to return - you will be most welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.7 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
406 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#4 of 49 in Swanage
505 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Swanage Haven
The Swanage Haven
#2 of 49 in Swanage
615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#10 of 49 in Swanage
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caythorpe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caythorpe House

Property: Caythorpe House
Address: 7 Rempstone Road, Swanage BH19 1DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caythorpe House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a comfy bed and a hearty breakfast in our welcoming guest house. En-suite rooms with Freeview DVD Television, tea/coffee facilities. Ground floor single and twin rooms, on site car park, all just a stones throw from the beach and town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Caythorpe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caythorpe House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing