We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay- Definitely will return”
Review of Caythorpe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Caythorpe House
Ranked #8 of 50 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This review is a little bit late, stayed at the end of June. Caythorpe is a lovely guest house. It's in a great location , 5 mins walk to the lovely beach and 10 mins to the little town. It also has its own car park. The rooms are lovely and clean. The breakfast is the biggest and the best we have ever had, in any guest house. The owner was very welcoming and friendly. We will be definitely returning soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Couple046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Owner at Caythorpe House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review. This is so appreciated! Glad that you enjoyed our breakfast, we pride ourselves on the quality of our ingredients. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have had many summer holidays at this well situated Guest House run by Alan. He is a very friendly and helpful person and nothing is too much trouble. The guest house has off road parking and is very near the beach and shops. The rooms are well furbished well equipped and clean. The breakfast can be full or tailor made. We have always found the price very good.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Owner at Caythorpe House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thanks Philip, for the great review. It is always a pleasure having Jan and yourself stay - not least because you always bring such lovely weather with you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We arrived early and asked if we could leave the car,we were taken in booked in and shown up to our room very efficient all went very smooth we were pleased to be sorted out so quickly and a car parking space always a bonus
Our room was fine en suite family room with a double and two bunks all very clean and everything we wanted
The house is very close to the town and beach 10 mins walk and I can not walk quickly so that was great for us
Breakfast again was a very efficient service with no one having to wait very long there was a good choice of cereal and juice and the full English or any parts of it were very good so yes could recommend this bed and breakfast in the very lovely swanage

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Owner at Caythorpe House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

We are so pleased that you had a great stay in our beautiful town. It is always a pleasure to receive a lovely review such as yours and this is what makes our job so enjoyable. Thanks once again and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Our second family stay earlier this summer at this lovely, well-situated guest house run by Alan, a friendly and very hospitable, gentleman was a joy. The weather during our stay was also brilliant. The rooms were comfortable, clean and well-equipped after recent well-planned refurbishment and breakfast was wel l prepared and tailored to our individual tastes. We will definitely be staying there again, whether to explore the local countryside or just to relax! Prices are also very reasonable. Thanks Alan and kitchen backing!

Room Tip: Corner rooms have good sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Owner at Caythorpe House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thanks so much for the great review. We do try very hard to ensure that we exceed our guests expectations! It was a pleasure looking after you and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed a couple of nights in a single room. Spotlessly clean beautifully decorated accommodation in the best part of town for a visit. The service was friendly and most helpful. The owner went to great end to be attentive. The breakfast,which was included in a great price was wonderful. I will certainly use this accommodation again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Owner at Caythorpe House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you so much for your very kind comments. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to having you back when you next visit Swanage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was our third visit to Caythorpe in the last 12 months -again we received the usual high standard of accomodation and hospitality from Alan the owner-It feels like home from home ,
We will be visiting Catythorpe again in 2015,
Evans Family-Bolton,

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank chris e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Owner at Caythorpe House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hi Chris, It's always such a pleasure when you come to stay! Looking forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Have just had the pleasure of one night's stay at Caythorpe House. Our room was comfortable, bright, spotlessly clean and well equipped. A huge bonus was the allocated on site parking. The owner Alan is simply wonderful, can't speak highly enough of him. Will be going back to Swanage, and from now on, will always head to this excellent, centrally located b + b. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Caythorpe to others.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bushwalkergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O, Owner at Caythorpe House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you so much for your extremely positive review. We are so lucky having our own off street parking being so centrally placed in Swanage. We look forward to seeing you when you visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
954 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland Bay
250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#3 of 50 in Swanage
548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caythorpe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caythorpe House

Address: 7 Rempstone Road, Swanage BH19 1DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range: £76 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Caythorpe House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a comfy bed and a hearty breakfast in our welcoming guest house. En-suite rooms with Freeview DVD Television, tea/coffee facilities. Ground floor single and twin rooms, on site car park, all just a stones throw from the beach and town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Caythorpe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caythorpe House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing