We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than happy”
Review of White Horse Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swanage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
White Horse Inn
Ranked #46 of 50 Swanage B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We have just returned home from what must be our 8th stay at this pub and yet again we've thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The pub is old, and full of character, the owners and staff are all friendly and helpful. It is ideally situated very near the beach and in the town centre, perfect for us as we do not use a car when on holiday Yes, the rooms are basic, with just hanging space and shelves but have no drawer space. The beds are huge and comfortable and the water is hot no matter what time of day you wish to use it. There are the usual tea/coffee making facilities in every en-suite room. You sometimes have to wait for a while for the hot water as it makes its way through the building. If you want 5 star luxury this is not the place for you. If like us you are after a comfortable, clean bed, plenty of hot water, a massive full English breakfast, and a wide choice of evening meals all at very reasonable prices then choose the white horse.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank ArnieandMaryBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed here for 1 night with my husband and have to say will not be back.

Dirty room, hairs in bed, appeared the bedding hadn't been changed since the previous guests.

Stains in toilet and bathroom hadn't had a good clean and bleach for a long time.

Horrible, dark, depressing dark blue walls in the room.

Everything felt grubby, needs a good spring clean!

Breakfast, not bad apart from dirty cutlery.

Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tixiebella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Ate here twice - had their Steak and Ale pie which was a proper pie - not a casserole with a bit of flakey pastry on top like most lazy pubs- but a decent wodge of boot filling tasty fare which good quality meat inside. Staff friendly, cider good (Stowfords-my favourite) - glad I chose it

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank luke_warmsloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Staff tried their best but food actually inedible. There was chicken on the specials menu but no chicken! Ordered lasagne and steak and ale pie. After just looking at the pie I was unable to eat anything within 100 yards of the kitchen. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewaltonwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Very poor standard B&B in the middle of Swanage. Rooms are very basic, of a poor quality and didn’t look or feel cleaned to any standard. Bedding is old and worn and we had no hot water on either morning of our stay. Loud music can be heard from the bar downstairs. Breakfast is included in the cost but be warned everything is deep fried and dining area is not welcoming/pleasant and could do with a good clean. Would not recommend staying here- completely overpriced and run down.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurabMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Some plaque on your way in trumpets that this is award winning food. We ordered a medium ribeye and it was all but raw. If the battered cod isn't bought at a supermarket, then it might as well have been because that's what they taste like. Nice staff, not bad beer. Sky Sports prevails.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Not the best of places as far as decor goes, perhaps a litle run down. There are large tellys in the bar so a good place for to watch the footy. However that apart had a good meal there and there was nothing wrong with it and the service was cheerful and helpful. Not expensive so good for those on a limited budget.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris551953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#50 of 50 in Swanage
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Town Hall Lodge
Town Hall Lodge
#13 of 50 in Swanage
229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caythorpe House
Caythorpe House
#8 of 50 in Swanage
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#3 of 50 in Swanage
548 reviews
0.5 mi away
A Great Escape Guest House
0.4 mi away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#10 of 50 in Swanage
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Inn

Address: 11 High Street, Swanage BH19 2LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
White Horse Inn Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing