We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super food, always busy”

Harlees' The Parade Fish Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 82 Restaurants in Swanage
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, View, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Super food, always busy”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I had the salmon steak, with chips and salad; super food as usual.
This is a great place for reasonably priced sit down fish and chips, etc. Go upstairs for lovely views, especially if you can get the window corner seat. Please not that my pics are from an earlier visit in January 09. When we visited this December, outside renovation was being undertaken.
The only downside is that there could be more staff, as the food has to come from downstairs.
Recommended for a lunchtime no-nonsense meal, but with the extra bonus of a glass of wine or beer.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shepsno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    112
    40
    30
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
94 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“What would you expect?”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

A popular fish & chips takeaway/cafe near the seafront. Young staff who would rather be elsewhere (as you'd expect) but the food was cheap and cheerful. Quality of the fish can not be faulted. Be sure to get there before 8pm as that is the posted closing time for the restaurant.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lostinhollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awful service”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Visited the Parade tonight with my family, we managed to get a table downstairs even though it was very busy. We waited 5mins for our order to be taken and then a further 40mins for our food to arrive!!!!!! There was only 1 young girl waitressing the downstairs section and she was rushed off her feet, however, how long does it take to fry some chips?! When the food eventually arrived it was of a good standard, just the time it took ruined our evening meal. Won't be returning, the Fish Plaice (the blue shop) behind it is much better and slot quicker!!,

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poole
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“poor service”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We managed to get a table in the window downstairs, but the waitress did not fully clear away the previous crockery or wipe the table down. After eventually ordering, we then waited 30 mins for our order to arrive. The food was enjoyable but the lack of service spoilt the meal. We then had to wait at the till whilst the waitress finished her drink in the back before slowly making her way to take payment. We could easily have walked out, and I really don't think anybody would have even noticed. Shall not be returning!!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammy67Poole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Perfect for what it is”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Piping hot fish & chips that arrived very promptly, eaten from a window seat looking out over the harbour, and all at very reasonable prices. They have quite a large menu which includes the option of having grilled fish, not just not just the usual battered kind - great if you are trying to be a bit healthy.

This is not a smart restaurant, it's a fish & chip shop with seating that also serves beer & wine - but for what it is, it's perfect.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KateJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harlees' The Parade Fish Restaurant also viewed

Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to Harlees' The Parade Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing