We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and perfect for my family!”

Sandhaven Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandhaven Guest House
Ranked #16 of 49 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and perfect for my family!”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed here for one night, booked last minute. The family room with bunks was very spacious unlike the previous review stated? It was clean, neutrally decorated and had a flatscreen tv so my two kids could watch CITV in the morning. There was a good size en suite with a bath with plenty of clean fresh white towels with toiletries. The owners were really friendly and relaxed about my 6 and 8 yr. old being about the place and made me feel very welcome being as I was travelling alone with the kids. The breakfast which they served early for us as we were up was exceptional with a selection of cereals, blueberries, melon and strawberries (which my two tucked straight into)! The full English was generous with two sausages, bacon etc and a perfect yolky egg. Also supplied with plenty of tea and toast so we were well fed! Would highly recommend for the quality, price and location being only a minute from the beach. We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Swanage! :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indiamungo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    17
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
38
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed here at the weekend for one night. I made the booking on the phone and specifically asked if there would be enough room for us to put up a travel cot. I was assured that there was and we bought a standard size pop up travel cot with us. On arrival I was surprised to find a very small room with just enough room to walk around the double bed and bunk beds. Definitely nowhere to put the travel cot! And although the owner was very helpful finding a bit to go on the bottom bunk to make it safe we felt we had been conned. As my toddler wasn't used to the freedom being in a bed allowed she took 3 hours to get to sleep and then woke up and climbed out of bed at 4 in the morning (the curtains did nothing at all to block out the early morning light). Breakfast was very average and as I knew we were paying £11 for my toddler I was expecting a bit more than the one skinny sausage and a measly piece of bacon for her cooked breakfast that they served her. All in all not the nice evening away we had hoped to experience for our £105!

Room Tip: Don't boook room 6 as a "family room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chillitupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2013

An excellent and welcoming B&B, our room was clean and bright, small but well laid out. The owner was very friendly and extremely helpful catering for my son's special diet including heating his evening snack. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaC2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Sandhurst for a long weekend break and hit sunny weather,we pulled into Swanage ( where I've always wanted to stay ) to find early season bad just started. We were given a very warm welcome from Janet ,and shown a choice of 2 rooms, one of which suited my Disability to the ground with a great view.we were pointed to a local pub for dinner at 6pm on opening ( the Crows Nest) by Janet. We were surprised it had a chief ! : for just a PUB ?. It was great and the food 1st class too. The breakfast was superberb, has was the cleanser of the whole guest house.We had a truly unforgetiful weekend and tried to book longer there !, but alas the following weeks were duly booked :(. And we could see why. So thanks Janet and Dave x Roy and Jane

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyJane62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

A well situated Guest House close to the beach at Swanage. There is a limited amount of parking in front of the B&B. A short walk across the sea frontage to the town centre taking approx 5 minutes. There was a warm welcome from Janet the owner who brought us a cup of tea in the lounge on arrival. The room was fine but a little chilly, mind you it has to be said the weather was arctic outside with sub zero freezing winds. Breakfast was very tasty, with a good selection to suit all. Enjoyed watching the telly in the lounge in the evening after returning to the B&B.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris551953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthcawl
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Stayed at this B&B for 2 nights in August and booked in directly with the owner after a conversation as to the area and distance to the beach etc. We arrived much later than expected due to work commitments, but on our arrival was given a very warm welcome and immediately shown to our room at the back of the house overlooking the garden, which was small but very light and well decorated with lovely shower room. The whole house was decorated to a very high standard and extremely clean. The breakfast room was lovely and the breakfast served was fab. All the staff were friendly and chatty. I would like to say that there were a number of people staying at the B&B who were taking part in a triathlon which started very early on Sunday morning and not only was breakfast provided for them but also the offer of a shower after the event! I would like to say a very big thank you to Jan for a lovely weekend and superb hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheJonesGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
926 reviews
0.6 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.3 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#4 of 49 in Swanage
524 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#10 of 49 in Swanage
351 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Swanage Haven
The Swanage Haven
#2 of 49 in Swanage
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandhaven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandhaven Guest House

Property: Sandhaven Guest House
Address: 5 Ulwell Road, Swanage BH19 1LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandhaven Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Sandhaven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhaven Guest House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing