We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cramped this time”

Sandhaven Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandhaven Guest House
Ranked #15 of 48 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shepperton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“cramped this time”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We have stayed at this guest house several times and always found it friendly and comfortable. Our room this year was very claustrophobic room no 6 is supposed to be a family room. Both of us felt cramped and that is without the children in the bunk beds! The Windows would not open properly as the had restraints on them so made the room very hot and stuffy. I hope the new hosts will take these comment on board when hopefully they will be refurbishing the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martine L, Owner at Sandhaven Guest House, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
Hello,

Thanks for your useful review. Since taking over in August, we have removed what we considered bluky, unneeded funiture from many rooms including the additional chest of drawers in room 6. We have safety catches on a number of windows and will ensure to show all guests as they are not immediately obvious. We are hoping to make our own mark on such a fantastic B&B and have started by replacing all bedding and linen. It would be great to welcome you back to The Sandhaven in the future.

Kind regards,
Martine and John Lush
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    15
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
36
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

A friendly welcome at this well located B&B, being a short walk from the sea front, though at the opposite end from the central part of town. My room was at the very top and a bit claustrophobic, though had all the usual facilities. Good breakfast. Overall good value.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms right at the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSG40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Drayton
Level Contributor
347 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend break and had a cracking weekend. Janet that runs the Sandhaven is very helpful and friendly. We couldn't fault the service or breakfast at all. We did have a problem with the bathroom as we are both 6ft tall and the slanted roof above the shower was 5ft. The tap also leaked all over the floor causing a slip hazard but that can be easily rectified. Overall a good stay in a busy seaside town.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My family had an enjoyable stay in one of the family rooms - the room was very small - and you could barely walk through the gap between the bunk beds for kids and the double bed (room1). But it was clean and the owner and staff were very helpful. I would stay there again - for the price I think the accommodation was reasonable. Again helpful staff at breakfast but the ingredients could have been better quality,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We (my husband, sister and brother-in-law) stayed at the Sandhaven Guest House for three nights 10,11 & 12th of September, unfortunately we were quite disappointed with the accommodation even though we had looked at the reviews on Trip Advisor. Everything was rather dated and considering we had chosen the two best rooms at the front there wasn't much of a sea view. Mine and my husbands showroom was very very tiny. Breakfast and service was very good and couldn't fault that, but for £85 a night we felt it was a little to expensive for what we got.

Room Tip: Choose the front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunshineFarnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martine L, Owner at Sandhaven Guest House, responded to this review, 24 May 2015
Hello,

We really enjoyed having you and your lovely family stay with us, we are glad you had a good time and enjoyed the area.

We hope you are not working too hard and look forward to seeing you all again in the future.

Regards,

John and Martine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights. It was clean and cosy. Janet was very friendly and helpful making us feel right at home.
The breakfasts were great. We ate heartily fueling up for the day, as it was hard to find good food in Swanage.
Great location, one min walk from the beach and very quite being located away from the town centre but still only 5 min walk along the beach front to the action.
Thanks Sandhaven you made our holiday!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heapsofkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed here for one night, booked last minute. The family room with bunks was very spacious unlike the previous review stated? It was clean, neutrally decorated and had a flatscreen tv so my two kids could watch CITV in the morning. There was a good size en suite with a bath with plenty of clean fresh white towels with toiletries. The owners were really friendly and relaxed about my 6 and 8 yr. old being about the place and made me feel very welcome being as I was travelling alone with the kids. The breakfast which they served early for us as we were up was exceptional with a selection of cereals, blueberries, melon and strawberries (which my two tucked straight into)! The full English was generous with two sausages, bacon etc and a perfect yolky egg. Also supplied with plenty of tea and toast so we were well fed! Would highly recommend for the quality, price and location being only a minute from the beach. We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Swanage! :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indiamungo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.6 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The Swanage Haven
The Swanage Haven
#1 of 48 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Castleton
The Castleton
#14 of 48 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandhaven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandhaven Guest House

Property: Sandhaven Guest House
Address: 5 Ulwell Road, Swanage BH19 1LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandhaven Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HRS so you can book your Sandhaven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhaven Guest House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing