We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cafe!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Earthlights Cafe

Earthlights Cafe
Ranked #30 of 81 Restaurants in Swanage
Price range: US$3 - US$13
Cuisines: Cafe, British, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Earthlights Café is a Stunning Family run Café in heart of Swanage offering simple things like Dorset Cream Teas and Cakes, Pizza, Panini's, Jackets, Baguettes, Salads, Soups right through to Main Meals. We have a massive selection of Teas with over 30 to choose from and Great Fresh Ground Coffee for Latte, Cappuccino, Espresso or as you like it. Sit and relax in a great atmosphere while food is freshly prepared, Children and Dog friendly
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great cafe!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Popped in while visiting Swanage. We didn't stop for a meal but instead enjoyed a hot chocolate and cookie. The cafe offered a quiet and relaxing break from walking around the town and the staff were friendly and welcoming. Recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 5n0wy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    54
    24
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lightwater Uk
Level Contributor
308 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Quaint and cosy cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

A cafe that is ideal for lunch, but very popular so there was a delay for the delivery of our food. Easy to find within the town, they welcome well behaved dogs. All day breakfast was good and they were willing to make substitutions, the filter coffee excellent. The price is very fair and the server so polite, all this builds to make the experience pleasurable, we look forward to another visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank garygeorge3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Had lunch yesterday in Earthlights Tea Rooms. Really friendly staff, excellent service and nice decor and pictures. The food was better than I expected for a little tea room. My partner and I each had paninis, best panini we ever had served up with those lovely Kettle chips. Great coffee and Earl Grey Tea. Will definitely go there again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice Cream Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Staff were really friendly, and very helpful when we were asking for directions around Swanage.
Both tea and coffee were lovely, as were the warm scones with cream and jam.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a good place to chill and re-energise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Friendly, good food and ambience. Recommend it as an ideal stopping off point for a snack and drink. We didn't really check out anything else on menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Earthlights Cafe also viewed

Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to Earthlights Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing