We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“seventh wave, durlston castle, swanage”
Review of seventh wave

seventh wave
Ranked #19 of 82 Restaurants in Swanage
Price range: US$2 - US$15
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, View, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Open daily from 9.30am 7 days a week. We welcome both visitors to the park and reservation bookings. Serving a range of lightbites,breakfasts,lunches and delicious cakes, all our dishes are made in house with fresh local produce.The Seventhwave team welcome you to this stunning location. Dogs and muddy boots welcome. Seasonal evening service (spring/summer only) **NOW TAKING CHRISTMAS BOOKINGS**
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“seventh wave, durlston castle, swanage”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

we have been to the café in Durlston Country Park before, but always in winter, just for tea and cakes. we promised ourselves we would go back and treat ourselves to lunch! took the grandsons camping last week in swanage. the highlight was a day spent in the Country Park and lunch at Seventh Wave. WHAT A LOVELY PLACE, WHAT LOVELY STAFF....delish food, fab surroundings, amazing views - thank you especially to waitress Bethany, we had a great time and can't wait to go back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hildegarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    94
    25
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice but pricey”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Of course this is a honeymoon cafe with no competition so it can charge what it looks but £5 for a bowl of soup is still steep.

Lovely setting though, friendly service, nice views.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heather_May_Stanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning views - shame about the chips”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I went to this cafe/restaurant for the first time with my mum & sister. We were not able to find a vacant table outside but inside was no problem as we arrived around 1:30pm.

We did not wait to be served but went to the counter to place our order. My mum & sister ordered the fish and chips and I had the bacon & camembert tartlet which all arrived quite quickly and although not large (light bite menu) was very tasty. The fish was a goodly portion and gorgeously fresh with a light golden batter but arrived with the worst overcooked chips I have ever seen, they were appalling! We are not complaining types, nor should we have to be but we really should have sent the meal back considering the price charged (over £10).

We could not see any desserts on the menu but there is a little shack on the pathway alongside the castle that sells Purbeck ice cream so we had one of those each and after a short walk down the hill were able to get an outside picnic table to eat them.

The castle has been extensively renovated and is a lovely and interesting place to visit. The stunning views across Swanage bay to the Isle of Wight alone are worth the visit. As it is on a very steep incline, there are lifts and motorised buggies to hire for the less able and we would go back to the restaurant perhaps only for a drink but won't risk anything served with chips again !

Helpful?
1 Thank hols4hobbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Outstanding ”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Sat outside with the glorious views.
The lunch menu didn't start til 12 but we could order our food early and it would be cooked at 12 but they may be a wait.
The food arrived at ten past and was excellent, the haddock and chips was a good size with nice flakes, the burger was also excellent and the chips were good too.
The waitresses were attentive and made sure everything was ok which it was.
The meal made a lovely ending to out holiday.
Can't recommend this place enough!

Helpful?
Thank Filip_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
221 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Lovely spot for lunch”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is a great place for lunch with fantastic views over the sea from the terrace. It's very dog friendly - dogs are allowed inside and out - and our server brought a bowl of water unasked for our retriever as he thought he looked thirsty! My husband had the fish and chips, I had the pollock. Both very obviously freshly cooked (a slight wait but worth it) and very tasty. I thought that the prices were reasonable too. Well worth a visit even if you don't fancy a walk.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wowfactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed seventh wave also viewed

Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to seventh wave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing