We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No food”
Review of The Globe Inn

The Globe Inn
Ranked #12 of 86 Restaurants in Swanage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$22
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are a local pub that welcomes visitors. Chef Ash rents the kitchen from us and prepares and sources all his meals. He uses mainly local ingredients. We are quite small and so do not have a separate dining room although we do have an area set aside for meals. There is a large sunny garden and a car park to the rear of the pub. Dogs are welcome. Children should be off the premises by 9 pm to comply with our licencing restrictions but can stay a bit later if they are still finishing a meal. We are a pub that serves good food and not a restaurant.
Solihull England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“No food”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We walked out from the centre of Swanage, a fair distance, to find a notice outside saying no food until further notice.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Midlander_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anne r, Owner at The Globe Inn, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
I'm sorry you had a walk out of Swanage. Ash, the chef who rents out our kitchen and does the food, was on a winter break. He starts back this weekend with a Valentine menu. His usual days are thurs fri sat pm and lunch time on Sundays. I urge anyone who is planning a visit to ring and check the times and availabilities first. Otherwise its first come first serve.
PLEASE note that this is not a restaurant but a busy local pub that does food. We don't run a separate dining area with waitress service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    32
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food and a friendly pub”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We are Swanage locals so if you want to know where to get great pub food or a good place to have a drink then trust this review. The food is excellent, it is beautifully prepared and full of flavour. We have eaten in all of the food places in Swanage and this is most definitely the best for good food at reasonable prices. If you want a full blown restaurant experience then go into town and pay the price, but if you just want good ole pub grub at affordable prices, then this place is definitely worth a visit.
The decor of the pub needs some attention but don't let this put you off, the owners, Steve and Annie are extremely friendly which probably explains why it is one of the busiest pubs in Swanage especially during the slower winter months.
The pub has a good sized pub garden with a decent shelter for the smokers, if that's your thing, although some heat in the leper shelter would be appreciated.
I enjoy my food and I am careful about where we go when we eat out. I need good quality food, reasonable price with care and attention with presentation. This pub delivers. I am impressed with the place and even took my very critical family there to eat and they loved it. That speaks for itself!
I'm not sure if the pub has a website, I googled it and couldn't find it.... Shame as it's always good to have a look at a place before visiting, especially if on holiday.
The pub has plenty of things going on throughout the year.
Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolf211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anne r, Owner at The Globe Inn, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for your review. Its very cheering that you think this a friendly pub.
We will be attacking the decor in the spring but are keen to retain the old fashioned charm of the Globe. I'm afraid we have had to concentrate spending on big items for the cellar, structure and kitchen in our first year.
We havn't got a web site at present but news of the Globe is on our facebook page as The Globe Inn Swanage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wish we had a pub like this at home!!”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We enjoyed a lovely meal as a family in this proper pub. Pool, darts, open fire and lovely evening meal made our holiday. Fantastic service from the small team and truly great pub food and excellent beer. This isn't the biggest pub so don't all head there at once!! We'll be back next time we holiday in Swanage.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PompeyRory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anne r, Owner at The Globe Inn, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Really glad you had a good time at The Globe. It is a small local that we hope also welcomes visitors. We aim to be a pub that serves good food rather than a restaurant that serves beer. There is a bit more room in better weather as we have a large enclosed beer garden!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and Great beer!!”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We had visited the Globe a couple of times over the years but not being a fan of Ringwood Best (the only beer they sold) it kept me away, particularly when other establishments in town had a better selection. Also the pub seemed a little run down with hardly anyone in there, so all in all not very inviting.
I’m not quite sure why but with friends in town we decided to give it a go last night and found the pub has recently changed hands and what a change for the better.

The menu was sufficiently extensive (with more choices on the specials board) to satisfy 4 meat eaters 2 vegetarians and my 92 year old mother in law – we all had a splendid meals – good portions – well presented and even a custard option on my home made apple and blackberry crumble. My main off the specials board was the belly pork – fantastic!!

If you are looking for a good meal out in Swanage then give the Globe a try.

The pub experience has changed out of all recognition – it was really quite busy for a Thursday evening with a number of tables eating – a good jolly atmosphere with Steve the landlord visible both sides of the bar chatting with customers.

However, the clincher for me was the beer – Timmy Taylor Landlord and Hobgoblin resident in addition to the Ringwood will see me not pass so frequently without calling in.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roy_W_Edwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanage
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Saturday night”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Best meal to be had in swanage . Top rated meal cooked to perfection and great service. In a restaurant price would be double the price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Globe Inn also viewed

Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to The Globe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing