We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant house, spacious, close to the beach”

Review of Seaside Escape!

Front aspect.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front aspect.
Gated patio area to the front of the house, overlooking the stream and the railway line. Stairwell to 1st floor.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Front aspect.
Gated patio area to the front of the house, overlooking the stream and the railway line.
Stairwell to 1st floor.
Bedroom 2.
View from bedroom 1.
Back of the house.
Award winning Swanage beach.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jenny U
UK
1 review
“Brilliant house, spacious, close to the beach”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Perfect for all our family which included a 3year old and 9month baby, Quiet location but only 10 minutes for the beach. What a bonus being over the road from Swanage Steam Railway - the children loved it. Shops and restaurant within walking distance. Lots of places to visit nearby in the area,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The big bedrooms
Liked least: The kitchen
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Reviewed 8 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
holties
Sutton-in-ashfield
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A superb house in a great location.”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We have just spent a week in Swanage in this lovely house. Great situation only 10 minutes from the town centre and beach. Good sized Co-op only 2 minutes away. The house is beautifully furnished and decorated with a nautical theme and is in a quiet location apart from the occasional whistle of a steam train literally just over the wall! There are 2 parking spaces allocated to the property. There is on-street parking but it fills up quickly. What we did was to find a space and leave one of the cars in it all the time and only use 2 of the 3 cars. The main beach is lovely but gets very crowded. For a virtually empty beach the north end of the bay is ideal and it is dog-friendly.
We would thoroughly recommend the house and the friendly owners as well as lovely Swanage and Dorset.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“AMAZING house and location”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed at this property for a week in August 2013 and our initial reaction on arriving was WOW!
The house is beautifully decorated and extremely clean. The bedrooms are very very spacious and we had everything we needed in the property.
We have been visiting Swanage for 15 years and know the area extremely well and were thrilled when we arrived as the location is perfect. It is literally a 10 minute walk from the beach and the shops and restaurants and is situated next to the Swanage Steam Railway. Our two young boys aged 2 and 5 years absolutely loved waving to the train driver each time they went past.
The owners were extremely easy to communicate with and we have already booked for next year which speaks volumes!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and cleanliness of property
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte...
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gem on the Jurrasic Coastline.”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Having just returned we couldn't wait to post a glowing review for this lovely holiday home. And I say home rather than 'let' as that's just how it felt - like being at home; just with perfect weather and the seaside/steam railway on your door step!
The house is beautiful, spacious, comfortable and so very well equipped. It is a perfect location for a traditional family holiday. The kids loved it, my 'in-laws' loved it and we loved it. (So much so, we are in the process of rebooking for next year!)
Thank you and keep up the good work - this truly is a gem on the Jurrasic Coast!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Every single thing!
Liked least: This question is strictly not applicable with this property!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosamond...
Heathfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“You cannot go wrong with this property!”
Reviewed 7 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Fantastic place, exactly as described but exceeded our expectations!
This was perfect for us as a family of 5 adults to spend a celebratory weekend. We would certainly return with our other children and grandchildren.
Lovely position in Swanage with easy walking access to everything and steam train ride to Corfe. We didn't move the cars all weekend!
No complaints from us!
This sleeps 8 comfortably but will not seat 8 comfortably round the kitchen table.
Anyone complaining would be 'nit-picking' and I would suggest they had not read the description carefully enough! If you need a bigger garden or bigger kitchen/diner find somewhere different!
Reasons for my ratings -
I have not rated 'Directions to property' as no exact directions from the main road were given, possibly on the assumption that everyone has computers or Sat-Nav. The owners are so helpful I'm sure they would respond to any request for further details. We looked on a street map and arrived without a single wrong turn!
Would prefer double beds wider than 4' 6" and no kitchen is perfect!
Don't know answer to wi-fi and didn't have to pay a security deposit.
Go to Chestnut Mews and enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Not applicable!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theresonl...
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Holiday Let”
Reviewed 22 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

I arranged for a group of Scuba Divers to visit Swanage and use this house for the stay. The house is beautifully presented, spotlessly clean, equipped to a very high standard and provided everything and more that you would expect from a holiday let.
The bedrooms were very comfortable and the communal areas were a pleasure to use including the pretty courtyard garden.
The two parking spaces and easy on street parking (in October anyway) was a real bonus and the pleasant walk into town took no more than 10 mins, probably 5 if you were in a hurry.
The owner was very friendly to deal with and was extremely accommodating.
I only hope my recommendation doesn't stop this being available for our next trip as we will certainly have it on the top of our list for next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of the furniture & decor
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;