We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
The garden from the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The garden from the house
The garden looking at the house  On beach outside of  cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
The garden from the house
The garden looking at the house
On beach outside of  cottage
Hallway to Bedroom
LOUNGE AND DINING AREA
Bathroom
The conservatory with 2 pullout beds
The kitchen with fridge freezer
The kitchen with washer, dryer & dish washer
The lounge
The dining area
Swanage Steam Railway 200 yards away
Swanage railway approaching Corfe Castle
Walking to Corfe Castle
Open rowing for anyone in Swanage Bay
Walking To Tyneham
Open Rowing for all
Swanage Gig Rowing Race
Old  Harry Rocks from Swanage Pier
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John W
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“home from home”
Reviewed 24 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

the location is real'y good , and very quiet,stunning garden,we were impressed with every thing. jane met us on arrival and even carried some or our bags for us,and she provided us with some nice treats too.hopefully we will stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2017
It was nice meeting you both & we are happy you enjoyed our cottage & Swanage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“i booked because of garden and was not disappointed”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We needed to be somewhere really handy as I do not drive. The cottage was next to all amenities and yet had such a peaceful feeling. Girls and I enjoyed our stay.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2016
Glad you found peace and quiet in the heart of the busy town. We are mostly non-drivers ourselves! Ian and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin B
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Swanage Holiday”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The garden cottage is lovely & comfortable & like home from home & all amenities are close, Ian & Jane are very friendly & helpful couple, Thank you both very much we enjoyed our stay very much in your cottage & would definitely recommend anyone to stay there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
Thank you Lin and Kev - it was a real pleasure to make your acquaintance. So glad you enjoyed your stay and the cottage ambience! Regards, Ian and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlieCa...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, lovely people, highly recommend to anyone.”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect location, close to everything yet quiet and private. The owners are very accommodating, everything you needed and more was available in the apartment. It was all lovely and tidy and if I go back to Swanage this is where we would stay again. I would highly recommend to anyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
For this review much thanks, Charlie! Let's hope you can come again! Regards, Jane and Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry F
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“swanage holiday”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

we found ,5 arcade terrace ,very clean and comfortable , the beds and sofas were very comfortable for our stay, the kitchen had everything that you could want.
the location was very central to the town,with a very short distance to the pier and the high street.
i would like to stay here again and would recommend it to any one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and parking
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
THANK YOU FOR YOUR VERY SENSITIVE RESPONSE.
JANE & IAN LOWSON
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H
1 review
“Great location in the heart of swanage”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The property is clean and fully equipped with all you need for an enjoyable stay.The owners are really helpful and even left us some breakfast croissants which were much appreciated after our early start. The private enclosed courtyard garden is a lovely place to sit and relax after a day out, you wouldn't know you were in the centre of town it's so peaceful, and the smaller birds seem to enjoy it as well. Loved not having to get in the car everyday, everything is just around the corner. Private secure parking was a bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2016
Thank you Helen for that kind review of our holiday apartment from last August. Forgive us that it has taken a whole year for us to acknowledge
it. I loved your appreciation of the garden!
Regards! Ian and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
320vincen...
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A charming place to stay.”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The location is central, just a minute's walk to the beach and convenient for all the town's amenities, including the steam railway, but is also in a very quiet location with no traffic noise or disturbance from other holiday-makers.

The accommodation was spacious enough for us to be able to relax with two young children and the furnishing and fittings were all of high quality with attractive decoration.

The couple who own the property are very helpful.

I would recommend here as an ideal base from which to explore Swanage and it is also a very relaxing flat to chill out in when you don't feel like going out, as it has a lovely little secluded patio-garden and conservatory.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and lovely flat
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing