We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for people watching on a sunny day.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ship

The Ship
Ranked #24 of 81 Restaurants in Swanage
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bournemouth, England
Level Contributor
152 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good for people watching on a sunny day.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a couple of pints watching the world go by. No beer garden, but there are a handful of tables out the front where you can sit and watch all the tourists of Swanage walking past.
Food delivered to others tables didn't look particularly appetizing, and the loos were pretty shabby.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank st321st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    72
    35
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, average service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

We stopped by for lunch with a 2 year old. The service was average for fairly busy lunchtime, and the wait for food was around 20 mins. It was definitely worth the wait!
Biggest thing for us was the lack of high chairs!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Had lunch last week here. The place itself was a bit off putting. In need of a fresh coat of paint to make it lighter and brighter. Felt a bit cafe like inside. We walked past several times deciding that there must be somewhere nicer. But..... as there was a table just emptying outside, we decided to go for it.... having been recommended. We weren't disappointed. I can recommend the fish pie... must be one of the best I have ever tried. Even though, it may-not have been freshly made, it tasted like it. Specials were also very good. The staff and the service was good. The food excellent. The only thing I felt let it down was the overall look of the place. I will go again...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dollygirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, not so great service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

It was quite quiet when we entered, which was nice. We ordered drinks and then sat down with the dinner menu. The prices were reasonable and there was a lot of choice. However when we went up to order the food, the barman that served us was awfully rude. He seemed totally disinterested in us, and it felt like he just wanted us to leave. The wait for the food was about 15-20 minutes, which wasn't too bad (I think there were about three or four dinner orders before ours). The woman that brought the food to us was polite however. Despite the poor initial service, the food was excellent and we were all so impressed. If I'm ever back in the area I would consider eating here again (hopefully we won't be served by the same barman!).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurelLan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for Sunday Lunch. Ordered a Beef & a Chicken Roast dinner. Usual system of paying at bar & could see the wooden spoon system on back of bar & asked if needed one & told not necessary. Sat outside having told bar staff position & waited quite some time. Suspected the waiter inside that I could see was wandering round with our dinners & eventually found there way to us with help of another staff member. Veg by now tepid. Chicken tepid. Yorkshire Pud cold. Complained & waiter took away & put under grill to warm which was fine apart from the nice rare beef turned to tough well done beef. What a shame as nice veg & home cooked potatoes & tasty food ruined by poor organisation/management.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 81splaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ship also viewed

Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to The Ship? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing