We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable Meal”
Review of The Ship

The Ship
Ranked #17 of 85 Restaurants in Swanage
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Meal”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We visited Swanage to visit a particular restaurant which had been recommended on TV only to find it was not at all what we expected so left without eating. We were still hungry so looked for somewhere to get food and stumbled on The Ship. All four of us were delighted with our meals which were well cooked, reasonably priced and served with a smile. My only criticism is that we nearly didn't stay here either because it looked a bit dark and dingy coming in out of the sun. How pleased we were that we did stay though. Three of us had the gammon steak and this really was a steak - almost like a beef steak - 10oz. and half an inch thick and very succulent. My wife had the seafood salad, which is one of her favourites, and she said she couldn't remember having a better one.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank enjoywhileyoucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    93
    39
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Amazing!!!!”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

After being recommended by a friend, took a chance on this centrally located local pub. Was not dissapointed! To say this pub does the best grub in swanage is an understatement! Delicious tapas to start, and a thai green curry that would be worthy of any profesional resteraunt! Friendly staff and a beautiful view from the outside tables. If your in swanage, please give this little gem a visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamesc1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Complete rip off, avoid!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We stopped by for dinner after spending the day at the beach. We were looking forward to our meal; the place always seemed busy and the menu posted on the outside looked good.

We ordered two 'hearty ploughmans' from the specials menu which was advertised as ham hock terrine, cheddar cheese, Stilton cheese, an apple, chutney and bloomer bread. This was charged at £10 each.

However what arrived was a complete let down. A piece of Stilton and cheddar an inch square. 2 slices of crusty bread, with a bit of butter thrown on top (no cartons?!) no terrine- this was replaced with obviously store bought ham from the shop down the road and no apple.

I wish I had taken a picture because it was absolutely ridiculous. What a complete rip off. Do yourself a favour, and get fish and chips from across the road. They were amazing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crazybeachboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good for people watching on a sunny day.”
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a couple of pints watching the world go by. No beer garden, but there are a handful of tables out the front where you can sit and watch all the tourists of Swanage walking past.
Food delivered to others tables didn't look particularly appetizing, and the loos were pretty shabby.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank st321st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, average service”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

We stopped by for lunch with a 2 year old. The service was average for fairly busy lunchtime, and the wait for food was around 20 mins. It was definitely worth the wait!
Biggest thing for us was the lack of high chairs!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ship also viewed

Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to The Ship? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing